We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pizza if you add french dressing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monical Pizza

Monical Pizza
Ranked #193 of 482 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza if you add french dressing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The first time I had monicals I wasn't really impressed it was an average thin crust pizza. My dad introduced me to their house french dressing and once you add that Monicals becomes ADDICTING.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrugalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Okay pizza-awful service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited this restaurant due to the gluten-free option which is very nice. Our waitress came to the table and just stood there and looked at us, didn't greet us whatsoever. After we just sat there she finally said what do you want to drink. The service went down hill from there. She disappeared for quite some time. The other waitress working was zip zapping around working really hard. When we finished our meal, we did tell the manager, he proceeded to argue that they were busy. When we arrived there were 3 tables including us of people. He then acted irritated and asked if he could give us a discount or something. We said no, as we really just wanted to behavior corrected which obviously was not going to happen since he argued with us about our service. It's great that there is a gluten-free option for my Niece that needs that but the regular pizza is less than stellar. My daughter loved her pepperolli's which she ended up eating instead of the regular pizza she and i had ordered to share. Parking is great. Location is also great. When we looked up gluten-free, i'm not sure what website it was we were referred here by but it did mention the awful service and boy were they right. Also with a manager that argues with customers, we definately will not be back and will be following up with their corporate office.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

There are not enough good things I can say about thus pizza! Crust is perfectly thin and baked to crispy perfection. Spices top off this pizza experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We discovered Monical's a few years ago while camping in Springfield. This is the best thin crust pizza I've had. The crust is unique and is what makes it so good. You can even buy one frozen to take home and prepare later. The Family Pleaser is a great deal, which includes a pizza, a huge bowl of salad (your choice of separate dressings), and a pitcher of soda. Our first time there, this easily fed 4 adults and 1 child. We enjoyed Monical's so much that we have driven the one hour it takes us to get there twice since then just to eat there. This past weekend was our third time and they've yet to disappoint. And we always order one to go to bring home. The restaurant is clean and the waitresses are friendly. The puzzles on the place mats are fun for everyone. If you love pizza and you'd like to try something a little different than the typical nationwide chains, I highly recommend Monical's.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tab1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best pizza we've had in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We've been travelling a lot this year and have enjoyed a lot of pizza in many different states. Today we stopped at Monicals and had a Points pizza. My husband and I agreed that it was the best pizza we ever remembered eating. While we have eaten at Monicals before and enjoyed their pizza, this newer pizza surpasses the standard pizzas they have served in the past. Of course, we added a salad to our order. (I even had to bring home a bottle of their sweet and tangy dressing- one of my long-time faves. )
This looks like a newer Monicals and was very clean while we were there. Our waitress was friendly and the whole family got involved solving the puzzles on the menu. Overall, the atmosphere is good. The food; however, was outstanding.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Busymomof2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monical Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Monical Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing