We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Charlie Parker's Diner
Ranked #2 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1950's themed diner serving American cuisine. Famous for our breakfast Horseshoe and 16" pancake.
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
261 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This place was kind of off the beaten path not a location you would think for a restaurant but this isn't a typical looking diner. The quasi hut building is quite unique for the diner and the inside decor is filled with roadside and antique memorabilia. I ate at the counter and the restaurant was very busy, the gentlemen running the counter and food window for the whole place was very efficient and notice he was getting the food out quickly. Even though the horseshoes that the are famous for, I did not order that meal as I seen them coming out the window it was large and heaping full of food it looked too much for me and since I was traveling a doggy bag is not an option for me. I did have the Charlie's Special Chicken breast sandwich with a chipotle sauce that was good with a cup of cheese burger soup which I enjoyed as well as real mashed potato and gravy. The overall service was good and organized and as other wait staff passed by they also asked if you needed anything. I would return to eat here next passing through Springfield.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dragons30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    126
    43
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bourbon, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Try the Horseshoe”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We actually ate at Charles Parker's twice while in Springfield. A fun little mom and pop diner. We had seen it on Diner's Drive-ins and Dives and had to check it out. Glad we did. It was busy both times we went, once for breakfast and once for lunch. Note they are not open for dinner - closes at 2:00pm. The specialty is horseshoes and I tried a breakfast and lunch variety. Both were good but I highly recommend the breakfast one. The pony is the smaller portion and I couldn't even finish that. The lunch one has a cheese sauce that got to me after awhile but the breakfast gravy is amazing. Prices are very reasonable for the amount of food you get. Will definitely go back if we are in Springfield again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stopped by, as a lot of locals told us to try it. Well worth the stop. The place was crowded, but we didn't wait long. Service and food was great. You take step back in time at a unique diner. Would stop by again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a step back in time”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Diner type place but with awesome food & great service. don't judge the outside looks go in & you will be pleased. large portions & great prices you won't be disappointed. only draw back they are only open for breakfast & lunch. If you can get through a giant pancake wow is all I can say. this has been on the food network on diners drive ins & dives. a must check out if in Springfield Illinois

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“THE place to go for breakfast in Springfield”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We eat at Charlie Parker's at least twice a month for breakfast. The staff is friendly and fast, the kitchen is fast, and our orders are always correct. We usually get a simple egg dish, meat, hash browns, and toast. The portions are ample and depending what I order, I have some to take home for the next morning, Toward lunch time, we enjoy their chef salads. It is also big and filling,

The down side is sometimes there is a 15-30 minute wait and once inside, the restaurant is crowded, so don't expect to have quiet, intimate conversations. It can be a little loud.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WSP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Parker's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Parker's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing