We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty fast and inexpensive!”

Shepardo's Italian Villa
Ranked #107 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Prior Lake, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty fast and inexpensive!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived at the State House Inn hungry for some delivery, so we ordered from Shepardo's. The prices were very reasonable. Got a 12" cheese pizza for 8.25, a 9" one-topping for 6.00, and a 9" supreme for 9.99. All of them tasted great. The crust seemed to be the stretched/hand-tossed thin variety, crispy on the bottom and chewy on top. The cheese and toppings were generous. My wife also liked the kid's menu order of ravioli she had. Delivery was faster than they estimated when we ordered. Wish my wife would call me "hon" as much as the polite lady taking my phone order (at least 12 times)! I'm not used to that coming from Minnesota.

Can't review the actual restaurant (location/atmosphere, etc.) since we ordered delivery.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank casherator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“surprising”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had heard Shepardo's was good but since it is off the beaten path, we never made it there until recently. What a pleasant surprise! This is a very small, family owned restaurant that serves really good Italian and pizza. There is no ambiance if that matters. Plain and simple. Prices are inexpensive for the portions served. Service is fun, good and chatty. This is a place locals favor and visitors will never hear about. If you have an opportunity, stop by and be surprised! Don't judge the place by the outside!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandHarriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“They deliver!!!!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were staying in a hotel in the area and we were pleasantly surprised to find an Italian place that delivered. The food was good but nothing special. Love the convenience though!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jen2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Garlic Cheese Bread!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had pasta, salad and garlic cheese bread. ALL were delicious! The Italian house dressing is great too. I love this place!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank character60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best value for your money with great food and drink and friendly service. Not in the greatest neighborhood (oh well...”
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Best value for your money with great food and drink and friendly service. Not in the greatest neighborhood (oh well). Don't miss it.

Helpful?
6 Thank ScottSSpringfield
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepardo's Italian Villa also viewed

 

Been to Shepardo's Italian Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing