We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly Good Home style Cooking”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #43 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Harvard
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistantly Good Home style Cooking”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

When travelling I tend to choose Cracker Barrel because they provide consistently good home style cooking no matter which one you go to. The staff at this Cracker Barrel has been very pleasant every time I have stopped here on my business trips. I recommend the Blacken Trout.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    47
    23
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
421 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“If Only”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our experiences at Cracker Barrel have been mixed. Some poor, some good, and some very good. If only they could be as good as this unit. Right off Rt 55, this Cracker Barrel was very good. Clean restroom, prompt service, roaring fire, pleasant and courteous wait staff and very good lunch. We started with a tasty clam chowder. A BLT sandwich had crisp bacon. My grilled chicken tenderloin included 4 strips cooked well. Only complaint was that the bread was slightly soggy. Overall, kudos to this manager. On this day, everyone was performing

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Cracker Barrel is...well Cracker Barrel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I guess that one Cracker Barrel doesn't vary much from another. Service was very eager and friendly. Food was OK (I made the mistake of chicken and dumplings which was, to a European palate, white tasteless goo, though the sides of pinto beans and turnip greens made a nice change from deep fried vegetables). It's a short walk from the Days Inn (but unlit at night) or the Baymont Inn, which is a plus. As is the fact that they had the free Cracker Barrel road map available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Home Fixins”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you like good food,country style or otherwise,you'll find something delicious at this Cracker Barrel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's Cracker Barrel, what more can I say?”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had another great Cracker Barrel experience. We ate there for dinner after a day of travel and also touring downtown Springfield. Cracker Barrel has a great and varied menu to satisfy any hunger or craving. The food is always very tasty and well presented. It is the perfect place to relax and dine and enjoy a great meal. We also enjoy the clean restrooms and also the shopping inside the store. The wait staff are very courteous and attentive to our needs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alfredandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Springfield, IL
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing