We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Excellent, Food Average”
Review of Sebastian's Hideout - CLOSED

Sebastian's Hideout
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Monroe Street
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Service Excellent, Food Average”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a friendly and helpful server named Mary. The entrées looked good, but very heavy and laden with potatoes and just too much food for us. We opted to have salad or soup with an appetizer. It was not very crowded, but then we ate pretty early, about 5:30 pm. Overall, not much light healthy looking food on too many of the menus at most of the restos in Springfield.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruebrezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

LOVED Sebastian's Hideout! Fabulous lobster and onion soup, not to mention the salad. Impressive staff as well!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most romantic restaurant in the city !”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We try all different kinds of restaurants within 50 miles, haven't been to this romantic of a place in 15 or so years when we went to the Bombay Bicycle Club ! Great atmosphere, great ambience, great music, food was okay and server was almost okay.
The menu online said There was supposed to be other cuts of beef from local Pleasant Plains farm, but the waitress seemed a little agitated when we asked about it and said all they had was the beef duo. Then we asked about some kind of pasta because we didn't see any on the menu and she once again got agitated that we had to ask. When she told us about the entree they had we said that was fine, we would take any extras home with us. She said okay, but we never got any to take home, never got any brought to the table or anything on the bill. We were a little disgusted with their help.
But the food was good, wasn't great but still good. The music, the atmosphere and ambience of the place made my evening very nice. Most romantic in Springfield, hands down !

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the rolls!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The rolls are served warm & are absolutely fabulous, OMG! I can't get enough of them :-)
The stuffed shrimp appetizer is so, so good too. They have a nice bar, good wine selection, good atmosphere. It's a great "date place" We've never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and wine selection”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The menu offers options to anything that you are craving. Had the beef duo which was exactly what I was looking for. Wine selection was good as well. I would recommend this to anyone traveling in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sebastian's Hideout also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing