We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most consistantly good restaurant”
Review of Maldaner's

Maldaner's
Reserve with OpenTable
Maldaner's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th and Monroe
Description: Established in 1884, Maldaner's Restaurant and Catering is one of Springfield's finest restaurants. If you have visited The Old State Capitol, Frank Lloyd Wright's Dana-Thomas House or the State Capitol, you can imagine the wonderful celebrations Maldaner's likely was a part of at the turn of the last century and to the present day. Today, under the guidance of Chef-Owner Michael Higgins, Maldaner's respects tradition while offering the best of contemporary American fine dining in our historical setting. Chef Higgins features seasonal local and regional ingredients influenced by Mediterranean composition and preparation. Heirloom vegetables, humanely raised meats and Slow Food all artistically prepared and presented. Welcome to Maldaner's in downtown Springfield. We hope you enjoy your visit each time you dine at Maldaner's.
Springfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the most consistantly good restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One goes to maldaner's because you know you will have a great meal. It's always good. Great bread, great fish dishes, attentive service and innovative specials.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twinlovetocook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    104
    28
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good, would go back.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was a very nice restaurant in the middle of downtown Springfield. Prices are 20 to 30 per plate. We all enjoyed our salad course and the main entrees were very good. My medium rare steak was more rare than medium. Service from the waiter was excellent although the kitchen was slow to get the entrees out. The chocolate flourless cake was delicious but skip the hot fudge sundae as it was nothing special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mallorynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Day, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Didn't turn their noses up at farmers in blue jeans”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was a Friday night, and they didn't turn their noses up at farmers in blue jeans from a local convention. The service was low-key and friendly. Husband had the chicken two-ways, and I had pork and pasta. Both meats were from named local sources, under $20 for the entree, and both very good. Can't pin any particular reason for not giving this restaurant 5 stars, except a few little things like a slippery olive oil bottle (I dropped it the first time I touched it), and a slightly-too-rich sauce. But really, I'd go back there again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay, Nothing Special”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Went here for lunch with a friend. This is a nice, old-fashioned kind of place. The lunch menu is somewhat limited. My friend had a Turkey Curry Sandwich which she said was good; I had a cheeseburger which was not bad, but nothing special. For dessert, my friend had Creme Brulee, which was excellent (she gave me a taste). I picked Maldaner's for lunch because I had heard they had a nice selection of wines by the glass. Well, the wine list isn't bad, but it is expensive. For example, a glass of Louis M. Martini Cabernet Sauvignon is $14.50. Our server was very pleasant and attentive. There's nothing wrong with this place at all, but be aware that you are getting Springfield food at Chicago prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daver852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Spots in Springfield”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A very good winelist and top service, as well as the food make this restaurant a Springfield favorite. The Caesar Salad is fine, but the goat cheese salad is tops. When soft shell crab is in season, it's a "small plate" you won't want to miss, as is the trout. Weekends they have a roast beef special dinner, but we usually opt for the fish special. ...and the flourless chocolate cake (Queen of Sheba cake) is sinful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringfieldFresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maldaner's also viewed

 

Been to Maldaner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing