We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Place in Springfield.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chesapeake Seafood House

Chesapeake Seafood House
Ranked #7 of 482 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1983 Chesapeake Seafood House has been serving Springfield IL with fresh seafood and hand cut steaks. We take pride in the community and in our dishes. Not much has changed over the years. Serving winning recipes that people have counted on being the same year after year. We don't want to take away anyone's favorites. Consistent quality has been the key to our success. Choosing only the freshest and finest seafood, steaks and vegetables makes us everyone's favorite restaurant in Central Illinois. We serve both locals and large tour buses who are visiting Springfield or just passing through. Once you visit Chesapeake Seafood House, you will be back!
1 review
“My Favorite Place in Springfield.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Love the nostalgic "Supper Club" atmosphere of the "the Peake" as the locals call it.
Great service and the best seafood in town. Especially the fried shrimp and Lobster. Always fresh , and the light batter on the shrimp doesn't overwhelm the flavor. You're really eating shrimp and you know it.
Would highly recommend .!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackson1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    136
    56
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had dinner on Friday night. The food was excellent and the staff was very professional. I ordered the orange roughy and it was cooked to perfection . My husband had a filet and it was so tender you could cut it with a fork. We will definitely go back!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We eat here quite often and enjoy everything we have ordered from seafood to steak to ribs. It is our favorite place to go and we send many visitors that way

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank townvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I went here, for the first time ever, to celebrate our Anniversary. We immediately noticed a large amount of seniors here on a Friday night. We waited an extra 15=20 minutes, for a "good table" and ended up sitting with in an area with common booths seated by other 2 people to a booth customers, across the room from excellent seats with a gorgeous window view!!! I phoned in my reservation and let the staff know it would be our anniversary a week in advance. Service was stellar, our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and polite, she went above and beyond to make our night special. The appetizers were 5 star. Oysters on the half shell and Oysters Rockafeller. The main course was pedestrian and typical Midwest fare. All of our main course was fried and served with cocktail sauce and tartar sauce that had to have come out of a bottle. The desserts were divine and between the appetizers and the dessert, the meal was redeemed. The holidays promoted a cozy warm ambiance, the restaurant was easy to access,table cloths and cloth napkins were clean, food was promptly delivered, it just was a totally predictable main course meal. We ate at the Red Fish, in Cincinatti Ohio, and the food totally "popped"! This is a midwestern restaurant resting on it's historic laurels, most likely comfortable with all I feel could use changing. Reminded us of the now extinct "Bishop's" chain. I would go back, for select items and request a seat by the view!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ehall1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I am not a sea food lover so I really love the fact that there is no fishy odor in this restaurant! It is an old mansion converted over and is very quaint dining. Wait staff is always pleasant and food good. Early bird specials available during the week make for an even better dining experience. Good for special ocassions as well as every day dining WIndow seats are very nice during winter weather to watch snow falling, squirrels playing in trees or eating corn.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesapeake Seafood House also viewed

 

Been to Chesapeake Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing