We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Cafe Coco

Cafe Coco
Ranked #235 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Cafe, Diner, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had lunch at this cafe last month and it was awesome. The staff was friendly and the owner was not only working in the kitchen, but came out and talked to every patron in the place. Our meals were delicious, it was like eating a home cooked meal. The prices are too good to be true, you can feed your whole family for very little. I will return!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burtle112263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just..... Ok”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Service was....ok. Walked in and the 2 people working (one behind counter the other was writing today's special on the chalkboard) did not greet or acknowledge us in any way even though there wasnt very many people in at the time (6?). Our waitress was again...ok but was much friendlier to people she knew that just walked in. :-(. Food was a 3 out of 5. Breakfast horseshoe was a 2.5 ( unfortunately the Holy Grail of BH goes to the lighthouse in Rochester who sets the bar really high on taste and proportion). My daughters French toast was fluffy and flavorful. Ordered a pie because had heard they had homade pies and very few places sell homade pies in this town. Disappointed that the crust seemed commercially made, but the flavor was decent. Only had one flavor to choose from and was told it was the last one. Atmosphere was typical greasy spoon ( which btw I tend to love out of the way divey places!). Price was very good, it was 11 and change for the breakfast items. Overall, I would give them a second try, yes it is out of the way, but who wouldn't drive for good food and good service! Hope this time they don't disappoint :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great breakfast. Delicious pies.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate at lunch time and chose to get breakfast. The breakfast plates were good and large enough to take some home. I especially liked the American fries: boiled potatoes, then chopped and lightly grilled. We took home a slice of coconut cream pie and apple crunch pie which will be enjoyed after dinner tonight. We definitely will return. It is an out-do-the way place that has no outside appeal......but the food is worth the stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WSP215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
94 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small but very good”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you're looking for a small, out of the way cafe for breakfast or lunch, this one merits a visit. It's located on what used to be Bypass U.S. 66 at the north edge of Springfield, IL

Cafe Coco has been know by different names for many years and many lasted only short time. This one should last much longer. Seating capacity is about 50 but I've always been able to get a table without waiting. The menu is not fancy but printed on a home printer. They have a good variety and prices won't break the bank. There are at least 2 waitresses and two cooks most of the time so there are no long waits. I was with a group of four recently and everyone's order was delivered as ordered. No complaints.
The only drawback is the parking. The lot is all-weather but not striped.. So, it you're one of the first to arrive, you may not be sure how to park. It there's one vehicle, just park next to that one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The food there is always good. And the pies are the best in Springfield. The staff is friendly. The location is easy to miss, but they have a steady clientele so it doesn't appear to hamper business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank newsy1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Coco also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing