We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, especially for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Springfield South
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to do a quick trip over Spring Break to Springfield with our 4 kids- ages 8, 5, 5 and 2 (we live in Evanston, just north of Chicago). I had never been to Springfield before and I was quite surprised. We stayed at the Residence Inn and had a great experience! From the little bath toys when we checked in for the kids, to the clean pool with tons of pool towels to the comfortable 2 bedroom guest rooms with kitchen and complementary breakfast it was great. The rooms and hall were surprisingly quiet, and the staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We had a great trip and will certainly be back! Thanks Marriott!

Room Tip: We were in a corner and it was perfect. With 4 kids under 8, it was the best location for us. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your quick reply to the questionaire. Know that we appreciate your kind remarks. We continue to strive for good customer service. Comments such as yours helps us realize that we are the right track and continue to do so. We hope that in your next travel plans, that you will, once again, choose Residence Inn as one of your stopping points and allow us to once again, make your stay pleasureable and memorable. Again thanks not only for being here with us, but for your kind and thoughtful remarks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 273 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed three nights at this location. It appears to be a fairly new hotel. Our only unfavorable comment is that the bathroom in the studio room was pretty small. There are several other hotels and a few restaurants in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HooHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to respond to the questionaire. We appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, at this time we can't do anything about the small bathroom area, however, your comment will certainly help in the future planning of rooms. We hope that in your future travel plans that you will come to see us again and allow us to make your return stay enjoyable and comfortable. We appreciate having you with us! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is an excellent choice for a hotel if you're staying in Springfield. The hotel is updated, beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly and does their best to accommodate you. We had a two-bedroom suite (for a fair price). While we didn't use it the common area had a full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite counters (granite in bathroom areas as well). They also have a breakfast AND a dinner that is served complimentary. The pool is a salt-water pool, basketball area (very nice, but smaller court)...this is set up for extended stay for the business warrior. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond to the questionaire! Know that we appreciate your kind remarks and to know that you would choose again to come to Residence Inn. We continue to strive for good customer service and it's comments like yours that keeps us on track of our goal. We hope that in your next planned travels, you will come and see us again and allow us once again to make your stay comfortable, accommodating and memorable.
Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I'm a long term Marriott platinum member and have been staying in this hotel with my wife and one year old daughter during weekend visits to see our family. Whenever we stay in this hotel, we feel right at home.

My most positive experience is the customer service in the front office as they seem to go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we have a pleasant experience. All the staffs I met are great and in particular Cathy Armstrong, Darin Dame and Mark Vanhala are certainly outstanding. They are always friendly, warm, courteous and beyond excellence.

The room is clean, comfortable and has a great décor with a fully equipped kitchen. I believe the hotel has studio, 1 and 2 bed room suites. There is a really nice indoor and outdoor area good for social gathering. They also have a nice pool, hot tub and a basket ball court. The hotel offer an hearty breakfast and is in a great location with several restaurants around.

My only concern is, this hotel offers only studio for a reward night and upgrading to 1 bed room suite is extremely difficult. I feel the studio is small for my family and would appreciate at least an 1 bed room suite.

We live in Chicago and have a need to visit Springfield several times during this year and will definitely stay here. I will also recommend this place to my friends and family.

Thanks again to the hotel staffs.

Naren & Deanna Gunaseelan

Room Tip: Ask to be at the opposite end of basketball court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking time to respond to the questionnaire. Know that we appreciate your comments. It's comments such as yours that helps us tocontinue to strive for good customer service and help make the guest feel as welcomed and comfortable as possible. Your response will be passed on to the others you mentioned in your note.

We do apologize for the disturbance of the basketball area. Please know that we took your suggestion to heart and have now implemented a time frame in which the basketball court csn be used. We appreciate your bringing this to out attention. We constantlhy strive to make our guests visit pleasant and memorable. We hope that in your future planning, should you travel our way, you will choose to once again stay with us here at Residence Inn and allow us once again make you feel "at home"!

Have a wonderful day and once again, thanks so much for taking time to help us with our continuous efforts in "Good Customer Service"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

King room was comfortable, spacious, very clean. Modern bath with glass shower & toilet separate from the sink. Well designed room with good storage. Full kitchen that is well equipped. Happy hour in lobby several nights a week with food, beer, wine. Comfortable and spacious lobby and outdoor patio area with tables, chairs. This hotel succeeds in being "greener" with real plates & glasses used for breakfast & happy hour instead of contributing to waste with plastic.

Many restaurant choices nearby and a large grocery store just a mile away if you want to cook. Only 10 minutes from downtown.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor was quiet - but likely that others are, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to respond to the questionare sent to you by Marriott. Know that we appreciate your kind remarks, but most important of all, is that your stay with us was relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. We constantly strive for excellent customer service and your response only confirms that we are doing our job. As like anything, there is always room for more improvement and we thank you for letting us know that we are on the right road.
Once again, thanks so much for your input and response. Do have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm very fussy and critical on hotels about things like cleanliness, HVAC, noise, etc. Nothing for me to complain about here, nice, new, clean, in an area with several food choices close by! The new bedding was very nice and comfortable also! Staff thorough and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazeyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay. We were so pleased to know that you were satisfied with your stay and how everyone made you feel comfortambe. Your review helps to to realize that we are meeting up to the high standard of service that we continue to strive for. Your positive response will help us to continue that same service. We hope that in your future travels, and if in the area, you will once again stay with us here at Residence Inn and allow us to once again, make your stay just as pleasureable and memorable. Thanks once again for your observation and kind remarks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Residence Inn by Marriott Springfield South from April 19 through April 21 during our visit to Springfield. Our stay was comfortable and relaxing. The room was well appointed in a modern, contemporary "with it" style. Bed was very comfortable. Heating and air unit was spot on. Full kitchen. The staff is extremely friendly. Morning buffet is very nice and well rounded although it ends at 9:30 which seems a half an hour early for the weekend.

Room Tip: One bit of advice - do not stay in an end room by the basketball court. There are no restrictions o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin D, General Manager at Residence Inn Springfield South, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking time to respond to the questionare. Know that we appreciate all the kind remarks you have made about your stay with us. We were happy to know that your stay was made comfortable and accommodating. Your request pertaining to the basketball court is well taken and will be passed on. We appreciate your openness as it through comments such as yours that help us to maintain the quality customer service that we continue to strive for. Once again, know that we appreciate your response and hope that in your future travel plans, should you be traveling our way, that you choose to stay with us and once again allow us the opportunity to make you feel comfortable and satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
0.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Springfield
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Springfield South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Springfield South

Address: 2915 E Stanford Ave, Springfield, IL 62703-7308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range: $152 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Springfield South 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Springfield South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing