We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popcorn and Sweet Lovers Delight !”
Review of Del's Popcorn Shope - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Del's Popcorn Shope
Description: Ice cream and popcorn since 1934...a wonderful spot!
Restaurant details
Description: Ice cream and popcorn since 1934...a wonderful spot!
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Popcorn and Sweet Lovers Delight !”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A Springfield landmark. A must see and go-to place when in town. So many yummy treats.. well worth the time and money !!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Carmel Apple!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went here on a weekend trip to Springfield - I wish I could come here more often! It looked like they had all sorts of good treats! My dad and I had a carmel apple and it was delicious! There was no indoor seating, but they had some outdoor chairs that we took advantage of, steps away from the Old State Capital and plenty of opportunities for people watching! I definitely want to go back there again for a yummy treat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy popcorn!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We did the tried and true kettle corn, and then they talked us into a combination package of cheddar and caramel corn. WHAT A FLAVOR BLAST and perfect for walking around the historical square to snack on! Thanks guys!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jojo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerro Gordo, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Popcorn, candy, fudge, drinks, nuts, all sort of delicious foods to try! Worth the trip to downtown Decatur- especially now with how beautiful they have made the area. Make sure to get some popcorn with real butter on it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CGLibraryTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Horrible rude service.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I don't know if the girl who waited on us was new out just having a bad day. She acted as if it was a chore to wait on us and didn't know how to make a chocolate malt. My daughter got a cone and the ice cream was falling off and I asked for a bowl. She looked at me as if I was crazy. Then she slammed the ice cream case. I cancelled my order and when my friend got his "chocolate" malt, there was no chocolate. I had to get the manager to give me a charge back on my card. By this time I was fed up with the attitude I recommend the Cold Stone right down the street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del's Popcorn Shope also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing