We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architechural Gem”
Review of Dana-Thomas House

Dana-Thomas House
Ranked #3 of 57 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Petersburg, IL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Architechural Gem”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This Frank Lloyd Wright-designed home is amazing and the history that goes along with it is, too. I imagine it was seen as quite the ultra-modern home in its day. Definitely worth seeing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    130
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“FLLW's Best Prairie House”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Over the course of many years, we have seen many of Wright's fine works, including lts of Prairie Houses. I have had Dana-Thomas House on my list for years and finally we spent a morning there last Fall. Just magnificent!

The multi-million dollar renovation has returned the house to it's former glory. Get volunteer docents lead small groups though just about everywhere in the home. The pace was leisurely, the patter most informative, even if you have heard some of the "Wright Lore" before.

We drove some 500 miles out of our way to see the House and there was not disappointment. If you are a Wright fan or have a like for "Prairie -style", make sure you see Dana-Thomas. An make sure you have enough time for all the wonderful Lincoln sites, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David12815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Great prairie design”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a great tour for anyone that is interested Frank Lloyd Wright, history, or design/architecture. I found this particular FLW house a bit more practical and open than some of his others (Taliesen West, Falling River). The house is stocked with original furniture that FLW designed and is full of interesting details. Do wear comfortable shoes as you will be standing for quite a while. This is not good for kids as they will likely lack interest and have a difficult time keeping their hands to themselves. If you are visiting the Lincoln sites in downtown Springfield, the Dana Thomas house is a nice walk from those areas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Frank Lloyd Wright's best”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have always loved Frank Lloyd Wright's architecture, but this home was such a treat. The furniture, library, bowling alley, artwork, and architecture were just superb! Don't miss this one of a kind home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouiseFelice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Frank Lloyd Wright house”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

For FLW buffs, this was a great opportunity to tour his most significant Prairie house. The tour was very interesting, so much detail in the design. The Dana-Thomas House was two blocks from our B&B, the Inn at 835!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lmtpa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dana-Thomas House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing