We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to learn History”

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a stunning combination of scholarship and showmanship, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum immerses you in Lincoln's world and time. Journey from a rustic Indiana cabin to the Executive Mansion in the nation's capitol; follow the fate of America's 16th president and share the joys and sorrows of a family - and a nation.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to learn History”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Must watch, nice to know the history and its worth watching.
Kids also enjoyed it. Recommend others to watch and go. Kids love it. Fun and engaging for all ages. One of the great attractions in springfield to check.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mirbaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,038
    304
    75
    13
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Much Worth a Visit Especially with Kids”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a well-done museum that is quite interesting. Our grand kids learned a lot of American history and really enjoyed their "education."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank velho2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing museum!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My kids and I loved this museum, it was very well done and engaging for many age levels. Fun kids area and the movies were very interesting. A must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the best museum I have ever visited. It is well organized and has many special exhibits. There are two movies - Ghosts of the Library is incredible. We will return to see more of it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FloBear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
345 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“worth a visit once in a lifetime”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Although its not a huge museum and kinda expensive I am so glad we made this stop. Its not for little ones too much but still ours loved it esp Lincoln Eyes and Ghost of Lincoln shows-they are short but captivating. Our teens learned more about Abe than any history class they took at school too ;) ITs a really pretty museum that is worth a stop-and there is so much more to it if you have time to drive to his house/cemetery etc but we only did the museum and the library next door bc they give little ones a paper to fill out to try to win a prize and my sons wanted to do that. They are really friendly there but really strict too about food, no touching and cameras but that's to be expected in such a pretty place. We didn't allot enough time here-maybe 4-5 hrs would be better than our rushed 2 but we still got it all done. Defintiely a fun family informative place worth visiting at least once. The parking and admission is a lot more than we'd like but for once, its worth it just to see. Def one of the nicer presidential museums we've been to in a cute little town for a great president :) A Must see and beautiful, fun yet expensive souvenir shop too-cute witty tees there ;)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank livelovex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing