We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site
Ranked #11 of 59 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1840, this building is where Abraham Lincoln maintained working law offices.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The first time we went the place seemed empty. I was surprised they would leave it open like that. The second time I thought would be the same but we heard footsteps overhead. We waited a few minutes and a man came down with a tour group. We had missed the last tour of the day. The next day we came back and got the last tour again. Just ourselves and one other couple. The guide was knowledgeable and it was interesting. The place has a lot of empty space and the guide said they wanted to do more with it. The backroom used to be a gift shop but that had closed up. It didn't take very long - 30 minutes max for the whole thing. It is worth it if you have a bit of extra time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillski-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    65
    59
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not a lot to see here, but important nonetheless”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

There isn't a lot to see here, but it is an important building in Lincoln's life story. If you are a Lincoln buff, you need to stop here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveler386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had a great tour guide that was knowledgeable and friendly. A lot of history there. Would definitely take the time to see it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,362 reviews
676 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Imagination or a good tour guide needed”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

While it's fascinating to stand in the same spot Abe did, there's not a lot here that's still original.

I was without a guide, so I wandered through and it was quite unremarkable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Must See”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Building where Lincoln practiced law. Statue of his family outside on the grounds. While it was closed when we arrived, we were still able to learn a few things and get some great shots.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing