We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actual historical exhibit of Lincoln's belongings falls short”

Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site
Ranked #12 of 59 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1840, this building is where Abraham Lincoln maintained working law offices.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Actual historical exhibit of Lincoln's belongings falls short”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited Lincoln's law office to see the real deal. The only historical item of Abraham Lincoln's to see was his desk. The rest of the building, about 1/3rd of the old historical part still exists. Yes, you do get to see where Lincoln's law office is presummed to be and you do learn alot from the tour about the time period, however we were disappointed with the tour attraction. The guy did a great job, working with what was there, in giving the tour but to not see the "real deal" was a downer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    65
    59
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Where Lincoln Practiced Law”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We took the tour and it was very informative. The staff gave you a lot of information about Lincoln's years as a lawyer and his years in Springfield. Worth it to stop and see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lincoln's office”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I thought it was definitely worth going even though it is short. I learned a lot about Lincoln like he used to be a Postmaster. The gift shop which is attached is very nice and reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“A Simple Office But Historically Significant”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Lincoln-Herndon Law Office is right across the street from the Old Capitol and is worth the visit. It is a simple, small office with few furnishings, but it is where Lincoln practiced law in Springfield and is worth the visit just for that. The last stop is a small gift shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Grasping at straws”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We enjoyed our tour here, but... There are no original furnishings. They have recreated what Lincoln's law office with Herndon might have looked like, and we may well have been treading the same floor boards that Lincoln did. Beyond that, much of the building requires imagination. The court room that has been recreated did not actually exist in the same place as they now have it, so it most definitely didn't look like that. Still, all things, considered, we had a great tour with a very knowledgeable guide, and to even imagine Lincoln walking those same floor boards was enough to send tingles up my spine.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing