We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Garden to stroll around When Flowers are in Full Bloom”

Washington Park Botanical Gardens
Ranked #13 of 60 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Garden consisting of 9,000 square feet of greenhouse area and a conservatory featuring more than 150 species of tropical plants.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We loved strolling around the gardens, however, we didn't know the Botantical Building didn't open up until noon so we were disappointed. They were also setting up for a wedding out in the garden which is a perfect place for such a venue.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"rose garden"
in 11 reviews
"flower beds"
in 4 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"greenhouse"
in 10 reviews
"plants"
in 10 reviews
"carillon"
in 31 reviews
"bloom"
in 4 reviews
"bike"
in 3 reviews
"cuttings"
in 2 reviews
"fountain"
in 4 reviews
"meditation"
in 2 reviews
"tower"
in 2 reviews
"nature"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2018

Very nice place to go with family. Enjoyed our trip looking at amazing flowers and displays. Spend the whole day and enjoyed it the best. Will do it again as leaves a calming feeling looking at colorful flowers and displays.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 967syedw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

This Botanical garden had some very interesting species growing. We went on a lovely summer day, and spent a nice afternoon strolling around the place. It was quite enjoyable.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank sandyk473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

The classes offered are fantastic. I took the annual wreath making class, where you make a large and beautiful wreath with cuttings from the park. This is a beautiful spot in Springfield.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We were in Springfield for the State Fair and decided to see the Washington Park Botanical Gardens. And we were NOT disappointed!!!

We're from the St. Louis area, and we frequent the Missouri Botanical Garden. MBG is a world renowned botanical garden and sets the bar pretty high for us.

Washington Park was certainly up to those standards!!!

First off-- it's free. That's surely an incentive to go! (MBG charges $10-20 a pop, depending on day of the week and what events are happening)

Second-- it's BEAUTIFUL!!! The Rose Gardens weren't in bloom during our visit, but what was showing was fantastic! And a rose garden smells like a rose garden whether it's blooming or not!

We found some Painted Rocks during our visit, too. My wife and daughter are avid Painted Rock seekers, and my wife left one she had in her purse she found near her place of work when she found one. Kept the game going. So we brought ours back home and hid them near our home. Someone will be quite surprised to find Painted Rocks that say they'r from Menard, IL. in the Alton, IL, area!

The new Angel of Hope Memorial was still under construction when we visited. I guess I misread the website and thought it would have been dedicated and opened by the time we arrived. The statue is beautiful, and the memorial garden looks like it will be something to behold once it's done.

The Carillon was a neat part of the visit! We made our way to it when it went off at Noon and enjoyed the show. You can go on a tour of the Carillon during certain hours, but we didn't. Didn't seem worth the $4 a head fee to see a concrete tower from the inside, especially after the Noon chimes.

We went in to the Education Center right by the parking lot, but there were no exhibits or presentations that day. But there ARE bathrooms, water fountains, and vending machines for visitor convenience. Plus, there's a penny machine, and we always get flattened pennies when we travel!

We were able to take our dog with us through the Gardens, and even HE seemed to have a really good time there!

If you're in Springfield, whether on business or there for recreation, swing by the Washington Park Botanical Gardens and enjoy a visit! You WON'T be disappointed!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Park Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Washington Park Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing