We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
This is a beautiful place.

My grandkids and I were riding bikes around the park as they live very near on Wiggins. We stopped... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2018
moodymolly
,
Jacksonville, IL
via mobile
Garden Beauty

Although a relatively small botanical garden, it is beautiful and very serene. The flower beds and... read more

Reviewed October 27, 2018
Sandy D
,
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
36
35
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
35
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden flower beds all ages greenhouse plants carillon bloom bike cuttings fountain meditation tower nature
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 82 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

This Botanical garden had some very interesting species growing. We went on a lovely summer day, and spent a nice afternoon strolling around the place. It was quite enjoyable.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank sandyk473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

The classes offered are fantastic. I took the annual wreath making class, where you make a large and beautiful wreath with cuttings from the park. This is a beautiful spot in Springfield.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We were in Springfield for the State Fair and decided to see the Washington Park Botanical Gardens. And we were NOT disappointed!!!

We're from the St. Louis area, and we frequent the Missouri Botanical Garden. MBG is a world renowned botanical garden and sets the bar pretty high for us.

Washington Park was certainly up to those standards!!!

First off-- it's free. That's surely an incentive to go! (MBG charges $10-20 a pop, depending on day of the week and what events are happening)

Second-- it's BEAUTIFUL!!! The Rose Gardens weren't in bloom during our visit, but what was showing was fantastic! And a rose garden smells like a rose garden whether it's blooming or not!

We found some Painted Rocks during our visit, too. My wife and daughter are avid Painted Rock seekers, and my wife left one she had in her purse she found near her place of work when she found one. Kept the game going. So we brought ours back home and hid them near our home. Someone will be quite surprised to find Painted Rocks that say they'r from Menard, IL. in the Alton, IL, area!

The new Angel of Hope Memorial was still under construction when we visited. I guess I misread the website and thought it would have been dedicated and opened by the time we arrived. The statue is beautiful, and the memorial garden looks like it will be something to behold once it's done.

The Carillon was a neat part of the visit! We made our way to it when it went off at Noon and enjoyed the show. You can go on a tour of the Carillon during certain hours, but we didn't. Didn't seem worth the $4 a head fee to see a concrete tower from the inside, especially after the Noon chimes.

We went in to the Education Center right by the parking lot, but there were no exhibits or presentations that day. But there ARE bathrooms, water fountains, and vending machines for visitor convenience. Plus, there's a penny machine, and we always get flattened pennies when we travel!

We were able to take our dog with us through the Gardens, and even HE seemed to have a really good time there!

If you're in Springfield, whether on business or there for recreation, swing by the Washington Park Botanical Gardens and enjoy a visit! You WON'T be disappointed!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Nice park to visit if you have an hour to spend. Nothing special though. Being free is a big plus. Large grounds but small areas of plantings. I would call this more of a park with gardens and not a botanical garden. Small greenhouse. Very nice carrillon.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank bartzsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful design and layout of the gardens and arbors. Probably best to visit in late April or early May...

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank TJB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews