We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See deer up close and personal”

Lincoln Memorial Garden
Ranked #8 of 58 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A native woodland garden designed by Jens Jensen located on the south side of Lake Springfield. This 100 acre site has 6 miles of wood-chipped hiking trails as well as a wonderful nature center.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“See deer up close and personal”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took a short walk along the river, skipped some rocks and saw a deer 10 yards away. The paths were really nice to walk on and they were well marked. The best things in life are free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvBullsSoxHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    37
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Visit the Garden”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are visiting the Springfield area and need a little "nature" time, this is the place I would take a trip to. Memorial Gardens is a wonderful green space that I have been visiting for many years. Pretty in all seasons, take the time to stroll through the woods and prairie.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lishasue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois USA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What the Lincoln era prairie resembled.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent a relaxing 1 1/2 hours hiking the various trails. Saw a number of deer and many birds. prairie vegetation was quite interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheFriedmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
274 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Skip this, unless you just want to relax”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a beautiful, wooded area next to a lake, but paths are wood chips and a bit difficult to walk on. If you want to be "in" nature, this is a good spot, but as far as making a special effort to see this, its probably not worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice nature walk”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My kids & I had a really nice nature walk through here. It's more just a forest, really, with lots of pretty flowers. We saw a deer about 20 feet away, it saw us, too, then we just walked quietly past. The building had interesting displays & a camping guide (?) was very informative.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lincoln Memorial Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing