We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was surprised in Springfield...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I was surprised in Springfield...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed one night at the Microtel hotel in Springfield, IL on 9/15/12.

1) The front desk employee that checked me in was very professional and got me checked into my room quickly with no hassles.

2) My room was on the third floor and the room was much cleaner than I had expected. The layout of the room was very good and I was amazed at how they incorporated the lighting above the king bed and in the living room area above the small sofa. Where the TV was located was a little strange, but it allowed the TV to be viewed from both the bedroom area and the living room area.

3) The room was quite with minimal road noise from the nearby highway. I did not hear any noise from other guests in the adjoining rooms.

4) The "free" breakfast did not have much to offer. There were no eggs or oatmeal. The coffee and bagels were fine. I guess it was better than nothing, but definitely no Denny's!

5) The room and hotel was much nicer than what I expected. I would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone needing a quality room at a reasonable price. There are only a handful of hotels in the Springfield, IL area. Plenty of restaurants in the area with more expensive hotels a few blocks away. The area seemed pretty safe to me. Easy access to I-55. Downtown Springfield is only five miles away.

6) I highly recommend visiting the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum (downtown) and Lincoln's Tomb at Oak Ridge Cemetery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59bob, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
thank you for staying with us glad you had a good time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    159
    117
    55
    33
See reviews for
194
101
32
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a fine value with good comfort. The location was near enough to my destination, and there were good eating establishments very close by. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59bob, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
thank you for your response hope to see you again soon
bob ippert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REPUBLIC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Clean, good breakfast, wonderful staff.
We travel with our Lab and the stretched the 30# limit for our well behaved dog.
Would stay again.....for sure!
.By the way, Smokey Bones across the street was out of this world. There is also a Red Lobster.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EDWARD O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59bob, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
thank you and we do love dogs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in a queen suite for a week recently and found the accommodations to be adequately spacious and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely consider seeking out a Microtel Inn in other locations in the future.

Room Tip: I would definitely upgrade to a suite if you are staying more than 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEDman_1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59bob, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Our staff realey injoyed your stay with us come again soon thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Room was very clean. Breakfast was basic, but had a variety even for my picky kids. We had 2 queen beds and there was a window seat that my youngest slept on because he thought it was so cool. Swimming pool was very very small. My family of 5 (3 small kids) filled it up and it wasn't very deep. But you really can't beat the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank researchmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59bob, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
so glad you enjoyed your stay come again thank you
bob ippert GM .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived at 4.00ish, and I was booked in and back to the car within 5 minutes by the most
excellent staff member I have come across in quite some time.
The room is great, clean, large, plenty of towels.
Went for a splash in the splash pool (inside). It is only 3ft deep.
Air conditioner in the room is QUIET!!!!!!!

Would come back again with hesitation.

Room Tip: Book online, you will save about $10.00. We had a ground floor room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fogsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
59bob, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
so glad you enjoyed your stay. thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a budget hotel but it was perfectly adequate for our needs. In fact, the air conditioning unit was a lot quieter than more expensive hotels we have stayed in during our 1 month US trip.
Breakfast is the basic cereal, yoghurt, toast & bagels, pastries, fruit & hot drinks & juice.
Only tip I have is that we chose the top floor of this non-smoking hotel & it was a wise choice as we had a quiet nights sleep - no interruptions from people above. In many of the hotels we have stayed in it has been impossible for us to take the top floor because that's where they locate the smokers.
It didn't affect us, but further down the hall was a barking dog left unattended in a room. Really do not understand how dogs are permitted in hotel rooms. What about health regulations??? To their credit I heard the staff act quickly to open the door & remove the dog (must have been a small yappy thing).

Room Tip: Choose the top floor. Rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
thank you . hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Springfield
Candlewood Suites Springfield
#8 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#28 of 38 in Springfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield South
Residence Inn Springfield South
#10 of 38 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Springfield
Hampton Inn Springfield
#17 of 38 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
Address: 2636 Sunrise Dr, Springfield, IL 62703-5680
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Springfield Hotel Springfield
Springfield Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing