We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets or Exceeds all Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great place. Helpful staff. Clean. Quiet.

Coming westbound on I-72 or in the daytime it would not be difficult to find but eastbound it was difficult to find as the motel was 1/3 mile down a frontage road after driving through what was essentially a shopping center parking area.

We stopped at a gas station where the staff smiled and said, "Looking for the motel?" Apparently we are not alone. A sign?? One or two after you get off the interstate -- just for giggles if nothing else?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for choosing us on your recent trip to Springfield and for offering your feedback. I'm so glad you found our acommodations and service up to par. We really love to hear from our guests. I'm so sorry it was difficult getting to us. When the hotel was built this area was just beginning to be developed. If you aren't familiar with Springfield it can be a bit of a challenge. We are actually working with the owner of the Prairie Crossing Business Distrcit to add an additional sign as you come into the subdivision. I appreciate you letting us know about your experience. I hope we can expedite the process in getting the additional signage in place. Again, thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience with this review.

Many thanks,
Darrin and the entire team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Southwest Spingfield, IL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 703 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

The property was up to Hampton Inn standards - neat and clean, nice lobby, friendly, wonderful staff. Good value for the money. Manager Kathy Marsh and front desk person Dillon both friendly and responsive. Good management!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank lcgcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Hi there!

I'm Darrin, general manager here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Southwest. Thank you for writing a review about your stay here with us in the Land of Lincoln. We are so pleased that you found us up to par, and our stand were responsive to your needs. We pride ourselves in keeping our hotel near spotless and our service at level that you feel like a friend. Thanks so much for letting us know how we did.

Hope to see you again soon,

Darrin, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pros - Very attentive staff , clean, affordable and just outside of town so it's quite.
The rooms were spacious, the free breakfast good and the staff was phenomenal!!
We were in Springfield for a wedding and we forgot toothpaste, the person behind the counter gave us some, my wife forgot her hairspray and the woman behind the counter let her use some of hers so we didn't have to run to the store!!

Cons - The toilet was tricky , you would have to flush it just right or it would stop up and no hot tub by the pool.

Room Tip: The King size beds seem larger than normal and provide lots of sleep room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Rick,

Thank you for spending the weekend with us here at the Hampton Southwest while attending the wedding. What a pleasure it was to hear about how our team members helped you to ensure you were ready for the celebration. As general manager, I've been lucky enough to work with this fantastic team for the past four years. Thank you for taking the time to write this review- I'll be sure to share it with the team. I'll also check on that toilet handle to see if something needs corrected.

Many thanks,
Darrin and the entire team here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Southwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed August 20, 2013

good value for the money. Great clean,quite room. Only knock at all was the AC would kick on loud. Other than that never hear a sound. Good Breakfast- not a feast but can definitely get you on your way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

This is Darrin, general manager of the Hampton Inn & Suites Southwest. Thanks so much for your positive review. I'm glad you found good value for your money. Hampton strives very hard to provide guests what they need complimentary. Breakfast, high speed internet, fitness center, business center, all complimentary. I will look into the AC in the room you stayed in to ensure the noise is eliminated. It could be a vibration as the compressor kicks on. We can tighten the unit and many times that helps alot. Thanks for choosing us and we hope to have you with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Darrin, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was a little concerned upon our after dark arrival, that I had booked us into a hotel in a cornfield for our family "Summer of Lincoln" road trip. Once daylight arrived I was able to see that we were ideally located to shopping, restaurants and our Lincoln sightseeing stops. The room was large, clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff was extremely helpful and kind. It was the perfect base for stay in Springfield.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thanks for taking a few moments to review our property! I'm so glad you were able to make the trip to visit our wonderful Lincoln sites. We are a blessed community to have such a rich history, and to have the Lincoln Presidential Museum right here in our midst. I appreciate your kinds words regarding the staff and acommodations. My staff love what they do and will do just about anything to ensure an oustanding experience. It's funny you mention the cornfields. When you visit Springfield in August its impossible to not feel you are surrounded by them! Thanks for choosing us while visiting our great city and we hope you'll be able to come visit again soon.

Darrin (and all the staff here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very good hotel, Staff is excellent. Hotel lobby and breakfast area is currently being remodeled but it was still nice and breakfast was good. Easy access from the interstate and close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank barbiear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Hi there,

I'm Darrin, general manager. Thank you for offering a review of your recent stay with us. I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and breakfast. As far as our lobby renovation, we are simply waiting on our new furniture to arrive and everything will be complete. We hope to have it in the next week or two. I thank you for choosing us and look forwarding to having you back with us again soon.

Darrin, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice clean hotel. Great staff. Super helpful and friendly. Check-in went very smoothly. . Had wonderful free beer, wine, soda, and snacks in the evening. The free breakfast was also nice. Plenty of convenient , secure parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Traci K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dthurman2, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hello,

Thanks so much for choosing us while in town! What a pleasure it was to hear how you enjoyed your accomodations and our staff and service met your expectation. I'm glad you were able to make it down for our evening reception. We actually serve that Tues-Thurs evenings from 5:30-7:00 and it is a great way to unwind after a long day. Thanks for staying with us and sharing your experience with this review.

See you next time,
Darrin and the entire team at the Hampton Inn & Suites Southwest Springfield, IL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
5.0 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#7 of 38 in Springfield
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
218 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
717 reviews
4.8 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest

Address: 2300 Chuckwagon Dr, Springfield, IL 62711-7107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Springfield
#1 Business Hotel in Springfield
#1 Romantic Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $96 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield-Southwest in Springfield Illinois,retire to your spacious guest room and surf the web with free WiFi. Upgrade to a stylish studio or one-bedroom suite for extra space, allowing you to fully stretch out and relax. Homelike amenities such as microwaves and refrigerators are available in every room. Enjoy easy access to Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum and many Lincoln sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest Hotel Springfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Springfield - Southwest
Hampton Inn Springfield
Springfield Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing