We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical for Staybridge Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites South
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Large rooms, friendly staff, clean, nice happy hour during the week in the evenings. There is a screaming kid with his family in the room next to mine, but sometimes you get that in a hotel. There are no restaurants within walking distance, but many within a short drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Traveling with my parents and my 3 children, we stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite midweek. There was plenty of space for all 6 of us and even enough room for my aunt and uncle (who were staying in a studio suite on the same floor) to come in and play cards. The room was clean and spacious, but the chair in the master bedroom was ripped in several places. We were pleasantly surprised to find that midweek a full dinner is included in your room rate--burgers, hot dogs, brats, baked beans, chips, salad, and soda, beer, or wine. The staff working the dinner was extremely helpful and friendly. My only wish is that the soda cups were bigger as we had to refill them a number of times. The breakfast buffet was likewise plenty and well stocked.

While we did not use all of the offered amenities, I noticed that long-term storage closets were offered, there was a decent sized exercise room, there was a nice patio area with an outdoor court, and free laundry facilities were on site. We did use the indoor pool, though. It was quite large with a hot tub. Unfortunately the chlorine was so strong in the air in the pool area that our eyes were stinging and my mother's asthma flared up.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StLouisMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have stayed at several Staybridge Suites; two different ones in California and this one in Springfield, IL. This Springfield, IL Staybridge Suites is hands down THE BEST thus far! Check in was fast and flawless with a cheerful, courteous front desk employee. We had a ground floor one bedroom (King bed), one bath suite with complete furnished kitchen. Nice full size frig, two burner stove top, dish washer, all the dishes, glass wear, flat ware, pots, pans, microwave bowls, toaster and coffee pot. There is a “breakfast bar” that separates the suite entry from the kitchen. As you walk in the door you come up on the desk and chair with a desk lamp, then the sofa sleeper, a floor lamp in the corner by the large window, two small tables pushed together for a coffee table. Across from the coffee table and sofa (sleeper) is the TV cabinet with doors with three drawers, that held a tube style TV. Next to the TV cabinet was a small table with a table lamp next to the double doors to the bedroom. Between the kitchen sink and the bedroom double doors was another rectangle table with a chair. The bedroom had a King size bed, very comfortable by the way, with a night stand on each side each with a bedside lamp on each, TV cabinet with doors with three drawers, that held a tube style TV and a very nice comfy chair! The sink and vanity are next, separate from the toilet/tub and shower. Directly across from the sink/vanity is the closet with sliding doors and a plus is the wire storage racks on one side for each space; here is also the ironing board and iron. Down the hall from the suite, you enter (with your key card) the fitness room with bike, two tread mills elliptical fitness machine, water cooler, flat screen TV, plenty of towels and scale. Directly off the fitness room is the guest FREE (no coins required!!!) laundry with FOUR washers and FOUR dryers and the room is actually pleasantly cool with two large windows. Also directly off the fitness room is the indoor pool and whirlpool. All these guest areas were spotlessly clean. Off the front lobby is the guest breakfast/evening reception area. Also in this area you find a gathering area with sofa, several chairs, end tables, coffee table, flat screen TV and fireplace. Off the breakfast area you have a guest library, the “business center” and small meeting room. Leading outdoors, off the breakfast room, is the patio area with two barbeque grills and a sports court, several tables and chairs. By the front desk you will the Bridge Mart , it is not very plentiful selection, but pretty sure it must work for the guest or it wouldn’t be there. FYI with in probably ¼ to ½ mile is a Meijer Food Store, extremely reasonable prices and a huge selection of everything under the sun. The complimentary breakfast was very acceptable, as long as you don’t expect gourmet food, you should be just fine to eat up and get a start on your day. The reception is Monday through Thursday. Monday is the Priority Club Reception, and then Tuesday through Thursday is lighter fare. Although, the calendar on our refrigerator showed “cookout” each Thursday and the night we had barbequed hamburgers and brats with all the trimmings including cheese, soft drinks, beer and/or wine. The next night was an “ice cream social” and that includes four or five different toppings for your ice cream and again soft drinks beer and/or wine. The front desk was more than happy to provide Springfield area maps that showed the most popular sites to be seen; along with a Spring Guide magazine and suggestions of what to see and/or do. Just remember, this is what would be referred to as an extended stay property, so be sure you understand the housekeeping cycle for what you can expect. If you wish to have more frequent attention to your suite, let the front desk know so they can alert housekeeping of your desires. This property’s number one priority is the guest comfort and happiness and that we can attest to! We stayed five nights, loved every minute and highly recommend the Staybridge Suites Springfield, IL!

Room Tip: This was a great stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NVSallyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly hotel but PATHETIC internet They give you a crazy code, it last for 2 hours and you get kicked off, then you have to call reception again for another. Guess what happens after 2 hours?? Yep you gotta call reception again and get another strange code.
What a waste of time.. Put me off completely.
Beds are hard, and my non smoking room had, had a smoker in there before. It's a shame because the staff are nice, the place is ok but with a pathetic internet system, hard beds and smokey rooms I won't go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Workaholicfromfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Staybridge Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Dear Workaholicfromfl,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the way internet service offered at the hotel may have caused you. Thank you for your compliment on our friendly staff. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,
Lin Sun
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

My brother lives in Chatham. I travel from California with my family at least once a year. My Illinois trip includes three nights in Springfield at the Staybrige. Staybridge has become home. The same front desk fellow has been there for years. While he couldn't possibly remember us from year to year, we are always happy to see him. We remind him of who we are and he lights us and welcomes us back. Unlike the fellow posting about the horrible beds, we find them quite the opposite. The rooms are spotless, furniture well thought out. Kitchenettes, while hardly hugely stocked, have enough for the majority of cooking that would go on there. Pool great, play area great. Happy guests. Friendly staff. Can you tell we love the place...and I travel to lots of little towns all over the country with my family.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SacramentoFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Don't stay here unless your idea of a comfortable mattress runs along the lines of concrete slabs. Staff was friendly, and they moved us from our first room when our TV in the bedroom did not work. However, the second room had a thermostat that although on the wall and apparently receiving power, had no effect on the room temperature. The coffee was horrible. We checked out and moved next door to the Hampton........comfy bed and a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budyzer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Reserved non-smoking room; obviously received smoking room as it smelled very strongly of old smoke. Next room neighbors had a loud party with loud music and people slamming in and out of the room from roughly 1 AM to 4 AM. Despite repeated polite requests to both the neighbors and the front desk nothing was done to quiet them. Do not reccommend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrinemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
5 mi away
Residence Inn Springfield South
Residence Inn Springfield South
#10 of 38 in Springfield
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
5 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 38 in Springfield
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites South

Address: 4231 Schooner Dr, Springfield, IL 62711-7101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Springfield
#11 Family Hotel in Springfield
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites South 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites is an all suites extended-stay hotel in Springfield, Illinois, home of Abraham Lincoln and The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. Each suite is designed for maximum flexibility and adaptability to meet all of your individual needs. Whether you are relocating to the area, on a project assignment, or just getting away for the weekend, Staybridge Suites has what you want! Staybridge offers 3 different suite room types; Studio, One-Bedroom, and Two-Bedroom. All suites contain a fully equipped kitchen, living room, 2-line telephone, direct in-room phone#, voice mail, and free high speed wireless Internet and wired Internet access. Hotel amenities include 24-hour service desk, complimentary breakfast bar, evening Sundowner reception(Mon-Thur), fitness center, business center, swimming pool, free guest laundry facility and complimentary shuttle service (8:00 am-6:00pm). The Staybridge Suites is located within a few miles of downtown Springfield, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum, White Oaks Mall, and Frank Lloyd Wright's Dana Thomas House. We are located off of I-72 and Route 4 at exit #93 in Prairie Crossing, Southwest Springfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites South Hotel Springfield
Staybridge Suites Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing