We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my fav”

Illinois State Museum
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Illinois State Museum focuses on the art, natural history, history and anthropology of the State of Illinois. Admission is $5 for adults ages 19-64. Children under 19, seniors over 64, veterans, and active duty military personnel are free.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not my fav”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This museum was mostly natural history: dinosaurs, water, underground, etc. There was only a tiny area on social history. I kind of wish we had not stopped even though it was free.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    80
    28
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great for little kids”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited with a group of three children under 4, who definitely enjoyed the museum and maybe learned something too. The discovery area in the basement is really well-done for a small space with a lot of creative activities. Our kids particularly enjoyed digging in the archeological section, pretending they were explorers in the jeep, and playing with the big magnetic wall where they could frame different pictures. Oh, and putting together the dinosaur.

We also enjoyed the exhibits, particularly the dioramas that showed what life was like in different eras of Illinois history.

We look forward to returning again!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BEM124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
179 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Its a very nice little musuem. It only will take an hour or two to go through. Several of the exhibits are starting to be a little interactive. For kids it has a really nice and renovated kids play area that tries to connect learning and fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BenNic02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bit of Illinois History”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is an interesting museum, even for kids. My 4 and 8-year old granddaughters really enjoyed the exhibits, as did I!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“pretty good for a free museum”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

It's always nice to find a free attraction when traveling with a party of 7. The exhibits are an interesting panorama of natural history in Illinois.

The staff were a little cranky with our children and seemed to prefer that they be seen and not heard (never mind that we were the only patrons visiting at the time).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank exmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Illinois State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing