We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Route 66 treasure”
Review of Shea's Gas Station

Shea's Gas Station
Ranked #34 of 58 things to do in Springfield
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This wonderful private museum, owned by the Shea family, is loaded with gas station and oil company collectibles and is an internationally renowned, must-see Route 66 landmark.
Watervliet
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Route 66 treasure”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

One of the must stops on Route 66. We got to meet Bill Shea and see his collection last year when doing Route 66 with a group of friends. He had some good stories and an interesting collection of stuff. Also met his son and grandson who hopefully can keep the place going. Sad to see other reviews saying Bill is in a nursing home now.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lester F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    9
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourbon, Indiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Collection”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is an unbelievable place. A collection of 60 years. I had heard it was closed as the owner recently went into nursing home. The son is hoping to keep it as well as the stories going. Call to set up a time to tour this place. He is usually there til noon on Saturday. We were in awe at the nostalgia packed in Shea's Garage. A must see!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelersburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
351 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“It was closed but alot to see”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

When we arrived at Shea's Gas Station, it was closed and locked up. However, there were a lot of memorabilia that you could see from the fence. A lot of memories of Route 66!! Neat to stop by and see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 86MissyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
238 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Closed to the public”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lots of old gas station memorabilia to see through a fence. Not what we were expecting but original location and it is still standing, so that is cool. We thought there would be someone there for a story or two. :(

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fitz49525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wishing Bill well”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited Shea's on 1st May but found it closed. We later learned the Bill, now 91, had been admitted to a nursing home in the last couple of weeks.

We would like to wish him well and we know that in his absence Route 66 is missing one of its great characters.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saint100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shea's Gas Station also viewed

 

Been to Shea's Gas Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing