We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Skool Dogs”
Review of Cozy Dog Drive In

Cozy Dog Drive In
Ranked #6 of 485 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Old Skool Dogs”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A real old skool diner. What was once a drive through in the 50s, is now a well established little diner, surrounded by memorabilia and nostalgia (not to mention the great dogs themselves). Well worth popping into if you're in the area, and even if you're not for that matter.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    205
    94
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
156 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“No complaints, but living off reputation”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a good, clean place to have a quick bite, or to check it off your list if you are visiting all the "must see" places on the old route 66. It has lots of nostalgia, but it isn't bad. The food was perfectly fine. As a fan of corn dogs, I was a little disappointed, because the cozy dog's batter tastes a little different than the sweeter cornbread batter you (and I ) am used to. It has a bit more savory spice than sweet. All in all, an okay stop, it's convenient, and you can say you've been there!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmeamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This was a must see on our road trip!! It did no disappoint!! The decor is so retro & we loved it!! Food was delicious (cheeseburgers, cozy dogs, fries, chili dog, mushrooms). Prices were very good! We will definitely stop again!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KH2Os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
229 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Second Chance”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I heard from several people that you can't go to Springfield without getting a Cozy Dog. Well, this was me giving them a second chance. There was nothing outstanding about the Cozy Dog. Tasted like a regular old corn dog. The best part about this place is the Atmosphere and that loses its excitement after the first visit. So, I am officially removing Cozy Dog from my "must eat while in Springfield" list.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank happyd829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not too exciting”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stopped because it was a classic route 66 diner. We both had cheeseburgers which were good. I had onion rings and my friend had battered mushrooms. We both felt the batter was way too heavy, overwhelming any flavor the onions or mushrooms had. Neither of us would order them again. Cheeseburger, rings and large drink for under $8.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cozy Dog Drive In also viewed

 
Springfield, IL
 

Been to Cozy Dog Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing