We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful house”

Lincoln Home National Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 58 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only house Abraham Lincoln ever owned is the centerpiece of this four-block historic neighborhood. Lincoln and his family lived in the two-story house from 1844 until 1861, when their address changed to the White House.
London
Level Contributor
177 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful house”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was very atmospheric with lots of original artifacts. It gave a good insight how they lived before moving in to the White House. It has been kept in excellent condition and a great history teller. The Park Wardens are fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarahjaneivesane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,538
    420
    59
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr. Lincoln's Neighborhood”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited the Lincoln House, and another house across the street. The entire neighborhood has been restored to look like it would have when the Lincolns lived there. Informative guide made our visit a very pleasant one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Orville34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding docent tour led by enthusiastic Nat'l Park Service employee!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Getting a ticket for this tour was a bit confusing but after we finally located the National Park Service building things went very smoothly and our guide had both knowledge and a terrific sense of humor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank leamingjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Attraction”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was at least our 5th trip to my personal mecca - Springfield, IL. We tour the house every time and every time it is absolutely the best. We love how the area is done to resemble the way it was when the Lincoln's lived there. Now, at least a couple of the other homes are open as small museums featuring different info on the Lincoln home and adjacent properties. Even though I have been there multiple times and have read many books, it never fails to give me goose bumps to be there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank blueyes34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This place was awesome, the neighborhood was beautiful and the tour was very informative it wasn't just the ranger talking he told it more like a story so everyone was engaged and asking questions, its definitely something you can't miss.

Helpful?
Thank bernaloveit96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Home National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Home National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing