We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    66
    107
    93
    96
See reviews for
156
51
31
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SAN JOSE
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Granted, this is the most convenient property to SPI... but has not been updated since built (1980?). Room smelled moldy/musty, carpet looked & felt disgusting, bathroom fixtures were cracked or broken. I was reluctant to use the shower. Mattress left me with a sore back for 2 days, pillows were cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank EDWARD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is across the street from the Oak Ridge Cemetary, a great place to begin a tour of Abraham Lincoln sites. Away from the downtown noise, it offers a quiet location. The continental breakfast is quite sufficient. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVENPORT
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

the only thing was that the door wouldn't lock and they were told about that and it never got fixed other than that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LISA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

things were fine, furniture needs updating. The staff was very nice and accomadating.
The breakfast was very nice. Over all we were very pleased , and would return if ever in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Room was clean but could use some updating, wouldn't hurt to replaced the carpet. Neither the WiFi or the TV worked very well. Light from the parking lot was shining into the room all night, curtain could not be pulled far enough to keep the light out. We had a suite and the light was a problem in both rooms.
Breakfast was basic continental breakfast, it was fresh and kept well stocked. Staff was helpful and friendly.
OK for a one night place to sleep but I would not recommend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Springfield
4.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Springfield
Red Roof Inn Springfield
#29 of 38 in Springfield
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Carpenter Street Hotel
Carpenter Street Hotel
#12 of 38 in Springfield
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
667 reviews
1.6 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
Super 8 Springfield East
Super 8 Springfield East
#31 of 38 in Springfield
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield
Address: 1701 J David Jones Pkwy, Springfield, IL 62702-2558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites Springfield Hotel Springfield
Howard Johnson Springfield
Springfield Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing