We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Moxo

Cafe Moxo
Ranked #1 of 484 Restaurants in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Moxo is a locally owned and operated restaurant passionate about our food, service, employees and our customers.
Michigan
Level Contributor
268 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff takes great pride in their restaurant and it shows. We were greeted warmly and well taken care of. The food is cooked on site. They even make their own granola. Each person in our party of 6 enjoyed their breakfast food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkF118, Owner at Cafe Moxo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
MichiganTravelwriter - thank you for not only taking the time to let us know how we are doing, but really taking notice about how we do it. We were excited to have you visit not only Cafe Moxo, but Springfield in general. We look forward to the next visit, in the meantime, enjoy Zingermans for me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    116
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, IL
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch in downtown Springfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our family of 10 was in Springfield to visit the sights. We are so glad we chose Cafe Moxo. They offer indoor & outdoor dining. The general manager Mike & his staff did a great job to make us (first-timers) feel welcome. Upon our arrival, they opened up a private room for our family. We ordered at the counter & they delivered our food to our table. The menu offers something for everyone, our family enjoyed salads, sandwiches (I LOVED THE BBQ MAC SANDWICH) & pot pies. We had cookies & cupcakes for dessert, they were great! If we return to downtown Springfield, I would absolutely come back to Cafe Moxo!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BradnCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkF118, Owner at Cafe Moxo, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
BradnCheryl - we appreciate your review of Cafe Moxo and taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the time spent here and I will make sure our staff is aware. We look forward to another opportunity to to serve you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was a good place for lunch. I tried their special - pot pie, which was good. They stop serving breakfast items early so plan accordingly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkF118, Owner at Cafe Moxo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
K J - we thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We noticed your profile stated you were from Denver, but we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. You had mentioned that we stop selling breakfast early (10:30a on weekdays and 11a on Saturdays), we would love to make sure if your coming in a little later to have some breakfast for you. We look forward to your return to Springfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always recommend for out if town guests.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Love this place. It never disappoints. Whether breakfast, brunch, or lunch, it's a great option. Save room for cookies or cupcakes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadewilkerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkF118, Owner at Cafe Moxo, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We were fortunate that we were open for the holiday weekend to take care of you. We hope to see you the next time you visit from Terre Haute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thumbs up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

First - thank you for being open on the 4th of July weekend. We had chicken pot pie - OMG; then we shared the homemade soup which was out of this world. Their desserts are fantastic. It is cafeteria style then we sat outside as the weather was nice. Great friendly service. We were told by many residents this was a place to go. We wanted also to go to the FEED STORE but it was closed the ENTIRE 4th weekend. Really disappointed with that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Moxo also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Moxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing