We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carpenter Street Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$89
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Springfield)
$95
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlewood Suites Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
State House Inn(Springfield)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Baymont Inn & Suites Springfield(Springfield)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
122
94
27
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
94
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleshuttle servicelincoln museumsoup kitchendiscounted ticketsindependent hotelfront deskwithin walking distancedowntown springfieldtwo blocksroom was cleanplace to stayhistorical sitesthe entire staffnice hotellincoln homeparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 254 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel to attend a conference at the convention center. The staff was friendly and helpful. We used the free shuttle service several times. The drivers were wonderful...Thank you Frances!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It had been several years since I had the occasion to stay at Carpenters Street Hotel in Springfield, IL. Upon my arrival there in February 2014, I was impressed to see it was extremely nice. Walking into the room was especially sweet...it was absolutely lovely. Upon checking out, I learned the hotel had been totally remodeled in 2010.

Staying at Carpenters Street Hotel is within three blocks of St. Johns Children's Hospital, where one of our grandchildren was receiving care. It is located between St. Johns Hospital and Memorial Hospital. It is a great place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here because of a sick relative at Memorial Hospital, which is several blocks away from this hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, made it easy to make reservations when we didn't know how many nights we were staying, and offered to store our luggage for us when we weren't sure if we staying another night. We stayed there 2 different times in 2 weeks. One night we got in late at the Amtrak station, on a very snowy, cold night, and were met by the cheerful van driver, Frances. Another morning, during an ice storm, Carlos, the van driver, insisted on taking us to the hospital instead of us driving our own car because it was too dangerous for us to drive. The rooms were very nice sized and clean, and quiet. We had a room with 2 comfortable queen sized beds. They have a special rate for people with family in the hospitals. They have a good continental breakfast, with hot and cold items. I would recommend the Carpenter Street Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had to write another great review about this place. Came down for a sick relative at St. John's Hospital and again, they did not disappoint with service. Breakfast was as normal. I had to make a last minute long distance phone call and told the clerk that when I got my receipt. She told me not to worry about it. I hope this place does not change hands because the staff and service they have there are wonderful! If we come down to Springfield again for leisure, we intend to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We wanted a downtown hotel within walking distance of the Lincoln museum and other attractions. This hotel was really good for a lower price. The rooom was larger than most with a desk and chair plus easy chair and ottman. The shuttle took us to a restaurant for dinner but we could have walked since it wasn't far away. Breakfast was good also with fresh fruit!

Room Tip: Call direct to book your room as they offer a nice welcome package with a discount for museum.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaWoman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews