We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carpenter Street Hotel
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
Milton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just wanted clean comfortable place for one night while traveling through and were pleasantly surprised to find this hotel in Springfield. Although it was away from the main highways by 3 miles it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessMiltonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    89
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
69
82
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flippin, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location just a couple of blocks from the Lincoln Museum. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Asked for extra towels and sheets and received promptly. No pool however. Breakfast was okay and ended promptly at 9:00.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Carpenter Street is about 6 blocks north of downtown where many of the important attractions are: Lincoln Library & Museum, Old State Capitol, Lincoln's home, etc. You can easily walk. Staff was very helpful when asked about attractions or places to eat (there are a lot of restaurants to choose from in the area). Breakfast (which was adequate) was included and the price of the room is a good value. Clean and modern. A tip about Springfield in general: This is not a big city. Parking is everywhere and it is not crowded. The visitor's guide provides two good maps of all historic sites, restaurants etc. Lots to do and see. They also have a shuttle bus which they offered for our use in the event we were too tired to walk back to the hotel - they said, just call us and we'll come and get you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murphy5708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Springfield area. We appeciate the kind workds and hope to see you back soon at the Carpenter Street Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel to stay in while my husband was having surgery. It was close to the hospital. ALL of the employees were very friendly & helpful. It was day to day sometimes that I would need to make a reservation for another night, & they were always very accommodating. The shuttle to & from the hospital was an added bonus...they tell you to be there 15 minutes ahead of the departure time, but we always left right away...I never even had to wait 15 minutes. It was very clean & comfortable & the price was very affordable. I would recommend it to anyone & would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel. We love receiving and reading comments suchas this one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel could not be more conveniently located, just two blocks from the Lincoln museum. Because of the good reviews on TripAdvisor and someone mentioning if you book the "Lincoln package" you get free tickets to the museum I decided to give it a try. Can't beat that, plus all the rooms, no matter the size are the same price so we booked the king suite with a large kitchen area, frig and microwave.

Compared to other hotel chains and considering the location, the room rate was excellent. I also learned it's partially owned by the hospital next to it and they give visiting patients and their families for a great rate. Nice! Plus it's not a chain so we were supporting a local business.

They have a private parking lot and there's a full service grocery store up the block as well as a CVS. Convenient to all the Lincoln sites and they even have a shuttle. They have a fitness center, but no pool and the entire hotel is smoke free.

The staff is friendly, the room was large & very clean. The breakfast is your typical hotel help yourself of cereals, a couple hot items, bagels, toast, coffee, juice, fruit and sweet rolls. One day they had sausage gravy that was the best I'd ever had. I found out it was homemade and I could have OD'd on it, it was sooo good!

The only thing missing for us was a business center to check email.

We would definitely stay again next time we visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChiSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello from Carpenter Street Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back on recent stay. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly to secure your arrangements when you are ready to return!

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and were very happy with the hotel. Staff was efficient and friendly, and the room was comfortable. There is no computer available for guests, however, so bring your laptop or tablet with you. Good breakfast. Location was wonderful for seeing all the Springfield historic sites, and it's within walking distance of the Lincoln Presidential Museum and Library(hotel provided free tickets as part of a package). Housekeeping was a little haphazard one of the days we were there. We asked to have a microwave and fridge in the room and that was provided (some rooms don't have them). We checked out one day earlier than planned and were still charged for 4 nights on checkout; staff very quickly fixed the error when we called later in the day. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrapper1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, General Manager at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First off let me say that I picked this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor as well as on the Springfield travel website there was a package deal with the Abe Lincoln Museum and Library tickets. We arrived in the morning and went to the hotel to get the tickets for the museum. The woman at the front desk, Monica was very friendly and helpful. the room was wonderful (we stayed in the King Suite) it was big and clean and the bathroom was huge. The only problem we had was that when we came back to the hotel after 3 our room wasn't ready. I really didn't understand it because they knew we had arrived but quickly Tabitha and the House keepers cleaned the room for us. The other girls at the front desk were always helpful as well with dinner recommendations etc. Breakfast was your typical cereal and waffles etc but was a nice selection. THe hotel is only about a block or 2 from the Presidential Library and Museum so you won't have to pay to park in their lot. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Springfield.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kathys1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.5 mi away
The State House Inn - an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.4 mi away
President Abraham Lincoln Springfield - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Springfield City Centre
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield - Southwest
3.1 mi away
Ramada Springfield North
Ramada Springfield North
#3 of 38 in Springfield
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpenter Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpenter Street Hotel

Property: Carpenter Street Hotel
Address: 525 N 6th St, Springfield, IL 62702-5319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Carpenter Street Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown boutique property is located in the growing Springfield Medical District, only one block from the St. Johns Hospital campus. Our hotel is also in close proximity to the following local attractions: Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum Illinois State Capitol Lincoln Home National Historic Site Dana-Thomas House by Frank Lloyd Wright Abraham Lincoln's Tomb Illinois State Fair Feel at home in our stylish guest rooms, with contemporary boutique-style décor and furnishings. Of course a flat-panel HDTV, 1-cup coffee maker, refrigerator/microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and expanded cable television are included in all rooms, along with these other full-service offerings: Complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily Complimentary hotel-wide wireless high-speed access Complimentary weekday shuttle within 5 miles radius, upon availability ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Carpenter Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing