We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old State Capitol State Historic Site

Old State Capitol State Historic Site
Ranked #6 of 54 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Painstakingly rebuilt after being disassembled in the 1960s, this Greek Revival masterpiece saw Lincoln serve as a lawyer and legislator. In 1858, Lincoln delivered his landmark "House Divided" speech in the Capitol's Representatives Hall.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Singers were good, interesting seeing the building it's self. Abe Lincoln performer could have given more structure to his performance other than asking the audience questions

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SLP18111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    203
    48
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHILLICOTHE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old State Capitol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very nice. A framed Civil War flag is hanging on the second floor along with several other Civil War era items. Tours are informational and entertaining. Cost is a donation which is optional. They do allow pictures to be taken inside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaD2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience...learned a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited with our two boys, ages 8 & 9. We all had a great time! The "characters" are there in costume and give a wonderful tour. Very friendly and eager to answer all your questions. Be sure to sit in Mr Lincoln's chair!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I would recomend the guided tour... My children were able to sit in Abe Lincolns chair as well... Many historical artifacts, such as a flag that was actually carried in the civil war...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“History at it's best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We visited during the "Alive" time when they have period costume actors performing the tours, playing music, telling the history, which makes it almost real. Great place to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrogan3843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old State Capitol State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Old State Capitol State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing