We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover”
Review of Cafe Margret

Cafe Margret
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breiddalsvik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe Margret
Ranked #3 of 3 Breiddalsvik B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location isn't really going to put you close to anything amazingly scenic but this was an incredibly cozy and restful stopover on my tour of Iceland. Great food, reasonably priced, pack lunch to go the next morning upon request after an amazingly delicious breakfast. Comfortable rooms which allowed us to rest easily. What more is there to ask?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lafayette11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Almost wish I could keep this a secret so that when we come back there will be availability here! In short: this was an unexpected surprise, the most adorable place we stayed at in Iceland with the best food/cafe we tried in our 9 days around the island.

Booked a room with a private bathroom; it was very functional but extremely romantic. Beautiful balcony overlooking the fjord, skylight in the bathroom with a view of the mountains behind the lodge. Excellent bed and blankets were awesome! The "hotel" area also had a reading nook for the guests to enjoy, we liked the place so much we stayed in for the rest of the afternoon!

Now for the restaurant- extensive menu with cooked from scratch items. Everything that we tried was absolutely delicious. Service was impeccable. And the CAKES- we both agreed these were by far the best cakes we ever had; try the cherry cheesecake and chocolate cake.

We liked this place so much we did not want to leave, really hoping this can remain a well kept secret :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2Travel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were so pleased to arrive here to a lovely warm chalet style room, in this remote and quiet part of Iceland. While the owners appeared to prefer staying behind the scenes, their staff were friendly and helpful. An extensive menu (much German) - we really enjoyed the chocolate cake, our main meals and an extensive breakfast selection. The only thing missing was fresh fruit and more to do in the area. Definitely recommend if you're passing through and need refreshments / somewhere to break up a long drive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisounTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I can only agree with all the other contributors. We stopped here for afternoon tea as it was not really a location where we wanted to stay for a night. It was empty of visitors as we had hit a lul between tours having lunch and the evening meal. The setting and the food were both delightful, beautifully served and presented, a real treat. The view over the fjord was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruffanreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Good raw material ,real creme ,homemade bread,chicken in the garden.You will not be disappointed.The owner Margret is German who takes care of every little detail herself.I can not wait to come back and try other courses on the menu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 780Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I must join all the other enthusiastic reviewers, as I really loved the place. We stopped by for a quick lunch and remained for a cup of coffee and cakes as well. It was indeed the best meal we had during our 12-day-trip in Iceland and perhaps the best cakes we had had in a long time. We promised ourselves that next time we visit this wonderful country we will stay at least one night in this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorams111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We drove the ring road around Iceland for 10 days and thought the Café Margret the best place we stayed at. The owner Margret is a German who takes care of every little detail herself. She designed the house, is a professional cook and baker and offers very good quality in meals, cakes, sweets, etc. The rooms, bathrooms and beds are very nice, not the basic type you often find. The atmosphere was welcoming, and we felt very much at home. Our favourite hotel in Iceland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galuhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breiddalsvik
0.0 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stadarborg
Hotel Stadarborg
#2 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blafell
Hotel Blafell
#1 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eyjar Fishing Lodge
Eyjar Fishing Lodge
#3 of 4 in Breiddalsvik
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silfurberg Guesthouse
Silfurberg Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Breiddalsvik
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Thverhamar Hostel
#2 of 4 in Breiddalsvik
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cafe Margret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Margret

Address: Thverhamar, Breiddalsvik 760, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Breiddalsvik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Breiddalsvik
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cafe Margret Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing