We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but great hotel on the east coast”
Review of Hotel Stadarborg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Stadarborg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Breiddalsvik
Reviewed July 12, 2010

As there are not so many hotels on the east coast of Iceland this small hotel is absolutely recommendable

ROOMS
very very small but they are clean and there is what you need.

LOCATION
in the beautiful countryside. there is a beautiful view everywhere you look.

SERVICE
very friendly staff. they waitresses in the restaurant sang an icelandic song for us. they where really sweet :)

restaurant
great food, we had lamb and skyr.
breakfast with a good variety of different things.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedersen_Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

nothing to complain about services are excelent, rooms are clean, surroundings are beautiful,hosts are kind friendly and very helpful,the food is also good.
we can only recommend this place very high.
from Jette and Ejlif Jensen cph.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliviaDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

This hotel was a disappointment - to the extent that we almost booked ourselves straight out and book in Cafe Margret down the road (which has two or three rooms and is a pretty, wooden cabin which serves fabulous cakes). We had booked two rooms - one double and one twin. The twin room was tiny and so depressing my adolescent children (who are reasonably robust) were almost crying. My double room became a single room as soon as the propriator realised I was a single mother. The room was grim and, in my opinion, dangerous. The heating comprised of an electric bar fire (on a thermostat) which was located directly above the curtains. I turned if off as I couldn't see how it wouldn't set the curtains alight. The shower room was tiny and the sink had no plug (a must for a person who wears contact lenses as I do and doesn't want to see them disappear down the plug hole!). I also had to contend with the computer terminal (for free internet access) being located right outside my room so I had hordes of German tourists talking loudly outside my room as they surfed the web for what felt like ages. Also, in the morning, I was woken early by noises from the kitchen which was across the hallway to my room.
The restaurant had a choice of two menus: soup, fish, and dessert (only one choice of dessert) or soup, lamb, and dessert. Despite the lack of choice the food was very good - just a shame that the choice was so poor. Breakfast was OK but not brilliant.
The hotel advertise that they have a jacuzzi and sauna - but having had a peek at it we decided that we'd give it a miss.
I would never stay here again - I would prefer to drive on for a couple of hours on Route 1 to a nicer hotel. It's a huge shame as most of the staff were really nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yblodyntatws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1968Mariangela1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cambiare albergo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GBCAVALLARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breiddalsvik
11.0 mi away
Hotel Framtid
Hotel Framtid
#1 of 1 in Djupivogur
240 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Blafell
Hotel Blafell
#1 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
143 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Eyjar Fishing Lodge
Eyjar Fishing Lodge
#3 of 4 in Breiddalsvik
6 reviews
12.6 mi away
Silfurberg Guesthouse
Silfurberg Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Breiddalsvik
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Thverhamar Hostel
#2 of 4 in Breiddalsvik
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadarborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadarborg

Address: Stadarborg, Breiddalsvik 760, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Breiddalsvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Breiddalsvik
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stadarborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stadarborg Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing