We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
60
74
28
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
74
28
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night cheeseburger small store lamb chops tour group meat soup nice room great shower east iceland charming hotel the main hotel apple cake eggs and bacon spacious rooms good size small town northern lights
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 168 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stopped for one night while touring - it is well-located for exploring the East Fjords. We arrived at the end of August and there was an end-of season atmosphere: the hotel was quiet and the staff seemed a bit jaded. We were in the newer part of the hotel which has a log-cabin style, and the room was clean and comfortable.

We stayed in for dinner and a good feature was the two-tier menu: there was an a la carte section but another range of fast-foood type choices. We opted for the burgers which were very nice, and included a fried egg and bacon.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed one night on our way anticlockwise around the ring road
The hotel looks a bit sad from the outside but the rooms have all been refurbished with comfy new beds good hot shower and plenty of room
The breakfast was typical Scandinavian. I really don't know why people in cold country's have cold breakfasts (same as Norway) anyway it was plentiful and fresh
We were lucky I think with evening meal because a tour group was in and there was a buffet on
Not cheap but real value for money compared with other places with what you pay for what you get
They had all types of salads, fresh smoked salmon, home made soup and breads and lots of delicious hot food. Chicken pieces lamb chops fish vegetables etc and delicious fresh desserts
Staff were very friendly and their was tea and coffee in the room with kettle. What would have made it perfect would be a fridge in the room to keep milk any snacks cold but sometimes just as cold in the car overnight !!!!
Beautiful scenery in area

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We only booked this hotel one day ahead and were happy to find accommodation on such short notice. We had booked a standard room, but apparently found ourselves in one of the wood-panelled superior rooms. Very romantic. The room was very cosy, bathroom was small, but had a great shower, which is the most important thing.

Good selection of food at breakfast. Wifi was free in our room, even though our booking said it would cost something. We were very happy about our stay.

Tip: If you are driving from the direction of Akureyri, be sure to get off the Ring road at Egilstadir and drive through the roads 92 and 96, the scenery is amazing!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pikkuaalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Clean & comfortable room & good equipped guest kitchen.  Very good & fresh fruits at breakfast.  Staff Mike is very pleasant, friendly & helpful making our short stay very enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aplleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is warm and cozy. The wood-walled common room with a central fire place is very welcoming. The common room is also equipped with a couple of computers, which is good because the free wifi was weak in our room. Wifi reception in the common room was strong. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Given the number of tour groups we saw, Hotel Blafell is very popular with tour groups. My wife and I are inclined to avoid tour groups, so we were quite pleased to observe that the wings of this hotel isolated us from two groups that were visiting when we did. I read another review about seeing the Northern Lights in August. We were at the hotel that very night and can vouch for that story. It was amusing to see dozens of people storm out of the common room and into the street out front to take a look! There is a sauna and it gets turned on at 6 PM. We most definitely availed ourselves to this amenity! Our guest room also had wood walls and our bathroom had a shower stall. The stall was a bit tight, but it beats other Icelandic bathrooms in which there is a shower head and a drain hole in the floor and a curtain that may, or may not, prevent water from reaching the toilet and the sink and the rest of the bathroom floor. So, kudos to Hotel Blafell for having real shower stalls! We found the food in the restaurant to be good, but not great. Our waitresses were both efficient and very pleasant, especially the one who speaks Icelandic, English, Spanish and "a little Danish". There is not much to see or do in town, so your stop here is likely to be for one night. Still, the accommodation and the staff are so pleasant, you just might add a second night to your stay.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews