We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not nice outside, very nice inside!”
Review of Hotel Blafell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blafell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breiddalsvik
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not nice outside, very nice inside!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Looking from outside, the hotel does not seem very nice. When you into the room you'll have a nice surprise! Romms are spacious, quite and well furnished. The only negative point is the breakfast, which need to be improved in terms of variety (lack of sweet food). The hotel restaurant is quite good, but not the best you have nearby. Price: I payed about Euro 150 for a double room with breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13944935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
60
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We loved the rooms, they are more than adecuate, big size with modern ensuite bathrooms, very comfortable beds, very good bed linen, satelite tv, very good wifi connection and nice views from window. Couldnt ask for more.
Breakfast was complete also, even had some cooked food like rice and fish soup... Apart from the usual display of breakfast in Iceland.
The village is also very cosy and familiar... By the sea... We had a good time...
I think it is extremely good value for the 75 € I paid... Most of the places I got at this price didnt have private bathrooms and were nothing close to this...

Room Tip: I was on the first floor, probably less noice than ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night, while driving around the country and it was definitely a great option in this area! Breidhdalsvik is a nice fishing town, with an interesting harbor and landscape! The hotel itself is very nice, with clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff and a comfortable social area! Both dinner and breakfast buffets were very good and at very reasonable prices! If you go to Eastern Iceland and are looking for accommodation, this is a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here as a stopover. It is a very nice small fishing village. The staff were very attentive and there is a nice lounge to relax in. However the helpfulness of the manager when I left my expensive hiking jacket there was memorable. I fully expected to pay for it to be sent by post to my home but he had it sent up to the car rental place in Kevlavik airport with a friend! The manager also turned off the underfloor heating in the overheated room. ( a common problem in Iceland)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night during our self drive tour of Iceland. This was one of our favourite hotels of the whole holiday with more character than most we stayed in. The room was clean and very comfortable, and the spacious lounge a lovely place to relax. One comment was we had a room at the end of a corridor and the free wifi signal was weak. We had the buffet in the evening which was excellent quality and good value. Breakfast was also good and plentiful with a delicious creamy porridge.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kjames3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Upon arrival we were shown a room in the building right next door to the hotel. The lady explained it was recently aquired and totally new and ready for guests. Well it was! Nice new beds, a beautiful new and large shower, all in a nicely decorated new room on the first floor.

We really enjoyed the hospitality of the staff. Diner we decided to take in the hotel, for 4.900isk we had a good nice buffet diner, with plenty of choise. Especially the starters we really liked.

Free wifi in the whole complex, also in the separate building were our room was. Yes we were very pleased and enjoyed oir stay here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I agree 100% with the need for soundpoofing. You can hear everything in the next door room, but otherwise it's a nice place to stay. Bring earplugs and an eye mask as the sun comes in through the shades. The staff were very friendly and it's a nice place otherwise! Clean and cozy! It was a very long ride from Hofn to this hotel thought so I'd suggest either staying here or at a place in Hofn. Next time we'll try a place in Hofn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgeek3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breiddalsvik
9.3 mi away
Fosshotel Eastfjords
Fosshotel Eastfjords
#1 of 1 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Framtid
Hotel Framtid
#1 of 1 in Djupivogur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Stadarborg
Hotel Stadarborg
#2 of 2 in Breiddalsvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hotel Eskifjordur
Hotel Eskifjordur
#1 of 3 in Eskifjordur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.8 mi away
Saxa Guesthouse
Saxa Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Stodvarfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.8 mi away
Guesthouse Elinar Helgu
Guesthouse Elinar Helgu
#1 of 3 in Faskrudsfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blafell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blafell

Property: Hotel Blafell
Address: Solvellir 14, Breiddalsvik 760, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > East Region > Breiddalsvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breiddalsvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blafell 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blafell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blafell Iceland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing