We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The owners are serving lovely.

The owners are serving lovely, Katrin, Svava her Mother and Unnsteinn they believe in Álfur that... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
dudi n
,
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Little jewel!!

Must see if you like local history of Icelandic people. Like the very friendly lady at the... read more

Reviewed October 29, 2018
Nicky Q
,
Brussels, Belgium
Read all 47 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Borgarnes
from $23.67
More Info
from $1,792.42
More Info
from $658.35
More Info
from $92.00
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
27
18
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
18
2
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Must see if you like local history of Icelandic people.
Like the very friendly lady at the reception told us it brings people together, in such way that the pictures are personal reminders of how time goes by in different places, and still there are a lot similarities

I enjoyed very much and make your time to see everything.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Nicky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

A very good exhibition - recommend going around two or three times because you'll always miss something.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Westerby_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018

I went to see the museum at 17:00 one day, not having in mind, that the exhibition was only open until 16:00, but an incredible friendly young male employee of the library let me in. So I had the exhibition all for myself. And if I would have had any questions, I was welcome to come up and ask him.
The two exhibitions "Children Throughout a Century" and "Oh to be a bird" are layed out with so much love and care. The stuffed Icelandic birds are extremely well made and showcased in a mirror cabinet. I think I went 3 times around them.
The photo exhibition surprises with small and big doors behind several of the photos, showcasing items throughout the 20th century. A booklet leads you through the exhibition and tells more about the Icelandic past. Both exhibitions are connected with a charming reproduction of an Icelandic cabin interior back in the days.
Upstairs, next to the library is also a little gallery space, that shows pieces of local artists, that is worth to be seen.
I am highly recommending a visit. And don't forget to bring some time!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank FriederikeR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018

All the exhibitions are fascinating and beautifully displayed. View exciting art exhibitions from local artists, walk though a fun and educational photo exhibition "Children throughout the Century " and marvel the immense bird collection in "To Be a Bird". A must see in Borgarnes. I am an artist and value the heart and soul that felt in this Museum. Also grateful for the professional staff! Below are photos from my visit as well as exhibition. Thank you Safnahus Borgarnes.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank MichelleBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018

Very nice, you can both just wander about ore read about everything, -Amazing to see how the world in Iceland has changed over the last 100 years! The birds are also nice!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank j_n_naa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews