We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in friendly restaurant.”

The Settlement Center Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Borgarnes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: In our restaurant we invite you to a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and good quality food at reasonable prices. The Settlement Center is located in one of Borgarnes oldest houses. Yet the restaurant is modern and newly refurbished with due respect to old times. The menu is a blend of traditional Icelandic cooking with international flavors to it. The Restaurant is open daily from 10am - 9pm
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We ate here in the evening when we stayed at Borgarnes B&B. The food was good and the atmosphere busy and friendly. We had lasagne bad salad and fish. We would recommend it. Prices were reasonable for Iceland.

Thank BucksJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 870 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Excellent place. We enjoyed lovely Icelandic fish soup in this stylish and well priced restaurant. We sat where the restaurant is built into the actual rock face - great effect! Great on its own and even better if one also visits the excellent Settlement Centre Exhibition too, of which it is part!

Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settlement C, Manager at The Settlement Center Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you so much. We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you had great time in Iceland.
Best regards
Sigridur Margret
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Following the Trip Advisor sign at the door, we picked this restaurant. It was an excellent choice. The waiters were incredibly attentive and friendly. The ambience was lovely, and the food delicious. It also arrived very quickly after we ordered.

Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settlement C, Manager at The Settlement Center Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your friendly comment. It is very valuable for us specially as we had 2 unpleasant reviews the days before and our staff took it very seriously. They have been working hard this summer and are really trying to do their best every day.

Hope you bring lovely memories from Iceland and you come back one day - preferably in the winter. The winter in Iceland is something to experience.
Best regards
Sigridur Margret
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had lunch here after a decently long drive heading towards Reykjavik. The food was excellent and our waiter was very helpful and went above and beyond. He was the friendliest local we met in Iceland.

My friend asked if the fish soup or lamb stew was better. The waiter recommended one, even though he made the other, but brought out a sizable free bowl for her to try! Both were excellent.

I had the burger and it was great as well.

But the best thing here was the bread! It was warm and crusty with garlic in the crust. It was so good I asked if I could bring our leftovers to go. Our waiter then brought us out a whole new loaf to take on our journey. It was delicious for two days!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenbirdistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settlement C, Manager at The Settlement Center Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind and joyful comment. This is exactly how we want our guests to feel when leaving the Settlement Center.
Thanks again and enjoy your stay in Iceland.
Sigridur Margret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

After we stumbled into this establishment we realized it was a popular tour bus stop and a local hangout. When you get inside you realize that it is a large restaurant as well as a local gift and craft shop. Good local fare such as lamb soup and mashed fish, a salad bar lunch, local beers etc. Superb in house baked bread. Good cheese burger (Icelandic style)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settlement C, Manager at The Settlement Center Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

So glad you stumbled into The Settlement Center and enjoyed our stay. Yes it is tucked away in the lovely town of Borgarnes. But on the other hand it is there because it is in the center of the most important historical side of Iceland where one of Iceland´s biggest Saga - EGILS SAGA took place.

From your comment I understand that you only went to the restaurant and the gift shop, but the reason for our location is the Sagas as we have two exhibits - one on the Settlement of Iceland on one on Egils Saga. So next time you visit - I hope you have time for the one hour audio guided tour through the exhibitions. We have the audio guide in 14 languages.
Best regards
Sigridur Magret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Settlement Center Restaurant also viewed

 
Borgarnes, West Region
Borgarnes, West Region
 
Borgarnes, West Region
Borgarnes, West Region
 

Been to The Settlement Center Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing