We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good service”

The Settlement Center Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Borgarnes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: In our restaurant we invite you to a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and good quality food at reasonable prices. The Settlement Center is located in one of Borgarnes oldest houses. Yet the restaurant is modern and newly refurbished with due respect to old times. The menu is a blend of traditional Icelandic cooking with international flavors to it. The Restaurant is open daily from 10am - 9pm
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I didn't know what to expect when we arrived, having gotten the suggestion of where to go from my sister in law. We were warmly greeted and seated and got a wonderful server. He switched fluently between Icelandic and English as we were two couples dining, one Icelandic and one from Slovakia.
The menu lists the origin of their food wherever possible - meat from X farm, bread from Y bakery, skyr from Z place and so on. There's a good selection of vegetarian food, fish and meat on the menu, and the range of price is good, offering something for everyone.
Where we were seated we had the rock-face as one of the 'walls' as they have managed to bring the outside in in a very clever way. The building has a nice feel to it and it was very tempting to stay for a long while after the meal was over, but we had to go on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    253
    51
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasted good”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I liked the food that we ate, especially the squash soup. the service was really nice; there was an older Danish couple in the restaurant and the waitress who was attending to them did not speak Danish; another waitress went over and talked with them for about 20 minutes. Very warm and welcoming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MissMich27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty and ambituous”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Worth to visit. Friendly staff, tasty meals and light room. Got randomly horse, it was melting on my tongue. Vegetarian salads and a variety of bakery. Wlan and museum.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goereblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What strikes you about the restaurant is the unusual way it is up against the rock face a really charming feature. The food was also really good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch salad buffet”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stopped in Borgarnes for the first meal after landing in Iceland earlier that morning. We wanted to see the museum but also tried the restaurant after reading a few reviews. The salad buffet was outstanding. The perfect meal after a long flight. I would say there were nearly a dozen different salads and an outstanding cream of asparagus soup. Fresh baked bread that was still warm was set out for you to cut as much as you liked. The staff was very friendly and checked in with us several times. We were extremely pleased with the lunch. It was our first introduction to dining out in Iceland so the bill caught us a little off guard but it was consistent with most lunch tabs we had. Given the quality, I would rate this as a real value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNWanderer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Settlement Center Restaurant also viewed

 
Borgarnes, West Region
 

Been to The Settlement Center Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing