We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel Borgarnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Borgarnes
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel for the price that you pay. The room is ok and the bathroom was small but clean. We had a view on the lake. You have free wifi for only 20 minutes. You have to pay 3 euros for 24 h wifi. Borgarnes is a boring place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik_Cro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Borgarnes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

We used Borgarnes as an overnight point on our trip from Vik to Hellisandur. The city was the only right choice. This hotel is plain, even grungy. Our room was tiny, even by Iceland standards. The rug was quite stained. And this was the only hotel during our trip that had a sulpher problem - by the time I finished my shower, the entire room smelled of sulpher. There is a restaurant but it is totally lacking in any kind of atmosphere; we ate on the economy. Now on the plus side, it is very easy to get to from the Ring Road and the view from our room was pretty cool. Also, the breakfast included in the room rate was fine - quite substantial.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This hotel must have been decorated in the 1970's. The furnishings are an ugly green. Mattress quality was mediocre. Nothing fancy here. No phone or wifi. Breakfast and dinner were mediocre. There was one small elevator. There were 2 tour buses staying here, so it seems like a place that caters mostly to large groups.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

After reading the not so good reviews on tripadvisor, I was a bit wary of this hotel. But since this was part of an organized tour, I couldn't do much about. However, I did enjoy the one night I spent here! The bed was very comfortable, the room quite comfortable and very clean, and the dinner we had at the hotel was just delicious. The staff was nice and helpful, their English was quite good. The Wifi connections also worked without a problem.

There were a few things which didn't go so well: The shower in the bathroom was really a shower head in the corner, separated from the rest of the bathroom by one movable dividing glass wall. Needless to say, the bathroom floor was wet all over after the shower. The TV didn't work and the room had no hair dryer. However, the reception handed me a hair dryer upon request immediately. Also, you could hear people talking in the neighbouring room quite well.

Overall, it was a good night here and I wouldn't mind going back. I cannot judge the value though as this trip was paid for in one sum, i.e. plane, hotels, bus and guide were included.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GundamWing101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed here on our way to the Snaefellness peninsula. Borgarnes in early June was very quiet and very picturesque with snow on the mountains. On our arrival at this hotel we were met by a very surly young man. The hotel is in need of a major remake - all of it looks tired and sad. Our room was small but adequate and quiet. Breakfast was OK - there were only six guests statying the night we were there. I get the impression that many leisure travellers in regional Iceland choose B & B's or guesthouses due to both the cost of hotels and/or their run down state. We ate dinner at the Settlement Centre restaurant where the staff were very polite and the food was delicious. On our way back from the Snaefellness peninsula we stayed elsewhere in Borganes. This hotel was not good value for money - maybe if we'd booked it earlier we would have had a better price but we found walk in rates to be non existent and that you paid a premium for just showing up even when the hotels were empty and clearly needing business.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happy2travel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We slept at Hotel Borgarnes for one night in August 2010. We found the hotel to be well located within Borgarnes with awesome views on the fjord, but there was nothing exceptional about this hotel.

Location
Well located. Borgarnes is not a very big town. We also found that Borgarnes was a good place to stop before exploring Snaefellness peninsula if you are driving north. However, there is not much to do.

Service
OK service at the front desk. We didn't need anything special so I can't really comment on that.

Rooms
A bit small for Icelandic standards (outside Reykjavik I mean). However, beds were very comfortable and we slept very well. Decoration is a bit outdated but it was clean, so no problems there.

Breakfast
Great breakfast with lost of choice.

Value
Good value. It's a standard hotel, but it's the least expensive we had in our whole trip so I would say it was a good value anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sauerkraut80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GwenetFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
187 reviews
2.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
353 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
209 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
12.3 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgarnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgarnes

Address: Egilsgata, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range: $116 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borgarnes 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Borgarnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing