We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, good location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Borgarnes HI Hostel
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it clean, with good facilities and the staff were very helpful. The local pool is well worth visiting, and the small recycled play park that is tucked away by the sea. Wish we had stayed a night longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way back from Snaefellsnes. We got an en-suite double room with made up beds for the price of a sleeping bag room with no bathroom - so we were very lucky. The receptionist was kind enough to book a room for us at another hostel for the next day. Location is very convenient if you are driving up north or to Snaefellsnes and back.
Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sognidispersivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good quality, well run and comfortable Hostel. Well equipped, clean and well located with friendly staff. Enjoyed a 2 night stay and absolutely happy. Will certainly be making a return visit. If you have a choice of room perhaps opt for one not facing the street - however it's really not at a ll a busy road/

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mijbiledal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Borgarnes Hostel was by far the cheapest option that I was able to find at the last minute. (I ended up with a private room for about $50 USD.) I felt that my needs were definitely met for what I paid. The workers at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had two twin beds. One was more comfortable than the other. The water in the bathroom did have a sulfur smell to it, but I'm not sure if that is common within that city. If I were staying in Borgarnes again, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a double room with own bathroom. 120isk Queen bed and feather duvet, very warm and toasty. Plenty of space in room though tiny bathroom. The towels had a funny smell, I think from the sulphur water which smells quite strong.
Didn't use other facilities though nice big tables at window front.
Great black out blinds as 24 hour light when we travelled much appreciated by us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I'm 32 so I don't really stay at hostels too much when I travel anymore. But this place was great and a cheap alternative to the other places, especially when you're traveling solo. There was a family just down the hall so really, everyone stays here. 

I used booking.com the night before and it was 11,700isk for two nights in a two twin bed room. It was just two small beds, a window and a small cupboard. The bathroom was just outside the room, shower was down the hall a bit. They were both clean and fine. It was mid May so it was very quiet in the hostel, probably a few other rooms were occupied. 

There is a communal kitchen with a fridge and a stove. There is a giant seating area, a smaller one just off the kitchen and then a medium sized one that has a few couches and a tv. The front desk guy was very friendly and recommended a few places to eat. 

I would definitely stay here again. 

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank GlobalGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place was a real shame. It's really well located in Borgarnes and had great facilities - probably the highest bathroom and kitchen to bedroom ratio you could get in a hostel. It just seemed like the owner did not care. The bedroom was ok, but the bathrooms were dirty (full of old hair in the plugholes and bins full of tissue) and the kitchens were filthy. The floor looked like it had not been swept in days. We were not there at a busy time so maybe they keep it in better condition at busier times of the year?

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gylfi A, Front Office Manager at Borgarnes HI Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear customer,
I am sorry you felt this way about Borgarnes Hostel. April as part of wintertime is a little bit off season. April is my time of renevation, woodwork and repair, preparing rooms and facilities for the summer. I was pretty busy on that these days. During you stay my cleaning assistance had been sick so normally the hostel has not been reviewed in this way for the last 12 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borgarnes hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
200 reviews
2.7 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Englendingavik Homestay
Englendingavik Homestay
#9 of 16 in Borgarnes
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Guesthouse Hvita
Guesthouse Hvita
#7 of 14 in Borgarnes
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
#8 of 14 in Borgarnes
18 reviews
0 mi away
Lava Water Accommodation
Lava Water Accommodation
#2 of 16 in Borgarnes
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgarnes HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgarnes HI Hostel

Address: Borgarbraut 9-13, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Borgarnes
Price Range: $36 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Borgarnes HI Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This HI hostel is located at route 1, in the picturesque town of Borgarnes, only 75 km from Reykjavík. Borgarnes HI Hostel is located next to the town’s park Skallagrímsgarður and the sport center of Borgarnes including the Thermal spa with its waterslides, jacuzzis and swimming pool. Bus connection to other parts of Iceland and Borgarnes is also part of the bigger capital bus connection. At the hostel you can buy local breakfast, and the communal areas include a guest kitchen, great WiFi and a living room with TV. Different type of rooms, dorm beds available and private twin and family rooms. Tree rooms are with en-suite facilities. It is an ideal location to get in touch with nature, with some of the pearls of Icelandic nature close by; The Snæfellsnes Glacier, Hraunfossar waterfalls, Deildartunguhver hot spring, lava caves and more. Museums on history and heritage are easily reached from the hostel, such as Reykholt, The Settlement of Iceland, and the Heritage of Borgarfjordur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Borgarnes HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing