We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgarnes HI Hostel
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wasn't expecting much when we arrived, we had booked it that morning online. It was right on the main road, was clean and comfortable in a simple way, and I was astounded by how incredibly kind and accomodating they were. So friendly. There was a decent breakfast included in the price, free wifi in the lounge downstairs, and was the cheapest place we stayed all week. It had a good feeling, and if it otherwise felt like a college dorm, for a hostel it was fantastic. Better than a lot of the guest houses we stayed in. Perfect for three single guys traveling around Iceland.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimaliste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

When I arrived at the hostel, they didn’t have my reservation. Fortunately I had made copies of the e-mails that we sent back and forth so there was no problem. They just assigned us to another room that was clean but wasn’t made up yet. (For about US$75/night, I wasn’t expecting exceptional service!) Eventually we received the bedding and decided to make up the beds ourselves - the desk clerk was very nice but also very busy.
The furnishings were plain wood with no frills but the beds were comfortable and there was a sink in the room. We opted for the shared bath across the hall, although they had en suite rooms for an additional fee (I think it was $10 or more/night extra). All in all the rooms were spartan but very clean and comfortable. Having not stayed in a hostel before, I was pleased and somewhat relieved. (I’ve heard Icelandic hostels are of generally higher quality than others in Europe.) Borgarnes Hostel has rooms with 1, 2, or 3 beds.
Breakfast was available for an additional fee but the WiFi was free and there was a computer in the lobby. Parking was across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amlbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank natalia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
Thank 神威 日
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank C4ROL1NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank henryGaiarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Borgarnes hotels
2.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
Blomasetrid Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Borgarnes
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Borgarnes
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgarnes HI Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgarnes HI Hostel

Address: Borgarbraut 9-13, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Borgarnes
Price Range: $33 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located at route 1, in the picturesque town of Borgarnes, only 75 km from the city centre of Reykjavík.The hostel is located next to the town’s park Skallagrímsgarður and the sport centre of Borgarnes including the Thermal spa with its waterslides, jacuzzis and swimming pools. Restaurants, cafés, museums, shops among other services are to be found in Borgarnes. Bus connection to other parts of Iceland and Borgarnes is also part of the bigger capital bus connection. At the hostel you can buy breakfast, and the common areas include a guest kitchen, internet access and a living room with TV. There are 4 rooms with en-suite facilities. Borgarnes and vicinity offer a great variation of outdoor activities; hiking, fishing, bird watching, golfing, swimming and horse riding. It is an ideal location to get in touch with nature, with some of the pearls of Icelandic nature close by; The Snæfellsnes Glacier, Hraunfossar waterfalls, Deildartunguhver hot spring, lava caves and more. Museums on history and heritage are easily reached from the hostel, such as Reykholt, The Settlement Centre of Iceland, and the Heritage Centre of Borgarfjordur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Borgarnes HI Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing