We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential to be a great hotel but unfortunately is a run down dump”
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Firstly I am gobsmacked that this hotel has received 5* ratings! Absolutely extrordinary!!! The place has the potential to be a really good hotel (being by the roadside - away from built up areas) but good - it is not. It has a depressing run down feeling to it. Very poor decoration (think dirty walls and skirting boards peeling off)
Paper thin walls
Small awkward room with uncomfortable bed
Bad exterior landscaping (kerb appeal)
Eggy smelling taps (geothermal ??)

I did think the breakfast was ok though.

I can only think the place survives through the passing tourist trade (great reviews???!!!!) and (wholly innacurate - which is unusual) mention in the Lonely Planet guide.

If I were the owner I would redecorate the whole place top to bottom - do some works outside and consider restructuring the rooms. Otherwise there will always be a stream of negative reviews that cannot be buried.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJBWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hafnarfjall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Cheap but not that cheap. Clean enough. Aging and dated. Not comfortable. No tv, no working internet and no one there cared. No one at lobby past 10 pm. Breakfast was so-so at best. I won't go as far as saying it's a dump, but there are so many things wrong that it was one of only two places we didn't like in a 17 day trip to Iceland...

Room Tip: Don't go there unless it is an absolute last resort...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixelsinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night with a group of friends.
The hotel needs a renovation.
It's location is beautiful, right on the Fjord.
It's more a motel - our rooms doors were facing the outside.
The room was very simple with twin beds.
The breakfast good, and the breakfast room has lovely views.
There is a sitting room on the upper floor - very worn out. Mostly all the light bulbs were off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Like said in the title: Only in case of emergency.
We stayed in this hotel because we were tiered after our trip of the day.

The rooms are:
-Noisy
-Without charm
-Lake of cleanliness

The breakfast was fine

To conclude: to expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were really shocked upon our arrival at this hotel, because the photographs and reviews made the hotel look much more modern and polished than we found it to be in reality. We kept thinking that we must have pulled into the wrong hotel! When we arrived, the gentleman assisting us did not seem to know who we were. Luckily, I had a paper copy of my reservation, and after quite a bit of discussion, he said he could provide us a room. We were taken to a tiny room with twin beds which was not what we had reserved. We went back and requested a different room with a double bed. We were told that nobody would be there to prepare another room for us until 6PM, but then he changed his mind and said he would himself prepare a room with a double bed for us. So at least we were given clean bedding (although I don’t know whether any other cleaning of the room took place) and we were able to check into a room about 15 minutes later. We also had a problem with loud noises from overhead, which ended about 8PM. Then it was quiet the rest of the night and we slept pretty well. Overall, the facilities were very basic and rather worn out looking, nothing like the other hotels we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Iceland. But on a good note, the views were pretty and the staff with whom we interacted were friendly. We would not choose to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was our first stopover, good location, staff was very friendly and helpfull, hotel itself needs a bit of attention, room we stayed in could benefit from changing a carpet and new bathroom, however the bed was very comfortable, clean sheets and towels, we had really good sleep there. And to be honest after all day of exploring the beautifull area all you need is a comfortable bed. Only problem was very thin walls so we could hear other guests. Breakfast was ok, typical Icelandic choice ( cold buffet, toaster).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The room was not the best, it needed a good clean, new beds a tv and wifi (we stayed during winter and you need things to do in the dark nights). The walls were a little on the thin side too.

While I wasn't the greatest fan of the place my girlfriend really liked it. So maybe I was missing something

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful they even offer a northern lights wakeup call.

What really made the hotel stand out was their evening meals. I am not a fish fan, but my word these guys know how to cook good fish. They operate an all you can eat buffet of either fish or meat. We had the fish both nights because it was that good. The buffet consisted of a salad, bread, rice (?) and a load of other bits and bobs. But they kept on bringing out sizzling hot plates of chunks of fish which were seasoned and put in marinade. I have no idea what the fish were but they tasted heavenly and were fresh. I'd stay here again just to taste to fish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
353 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
20.0 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
74 reviews
20.6 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjall

Address: Hafnarskogur, Borgarnes 311, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bru - Bridge Hotel)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range: $111 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hafnarfjall 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the bridge crossing Borgarfjordur bay, across the water from the town of Borgarnes Hotel Bru provides the simple comforts of home in a cozy atmosphere, a place you can sit and chat as the sun turns the bay first golden, then fiery red. Just a few hundred meters from the main road, Hotel Bru has a homey feel to it, whilst providing the facilities expected in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing