We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hafnarfjall
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Glymur(Akranes)
$171
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bifrost(Bifrost)
$147
$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel(Bifrost)(Great Value!)
$180
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$688
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borgarnes(Borgarnes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Varmaland(Borgarnes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
57
79
43
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
79
43
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishthe ownernorthern lightsone nightgeothermal watertea and coffeefree breakfastlovely little hotelhear everythingbed was comfortablehot tubthoroughly enjoyed our stayroad closurespark your carrooms are basica great place to stayring road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 204 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Like said in the title: Only in case of emergency.
We stayed in this hotel because we were tiered after our trip of the day.

The rooms are:
-Noisy
-Without charm
-Lake of cleanliness

The breakfast was fine

To conclude: to expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Revock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were really shocked upon our arrival at this hotel, because the photographs and reviews made the hotel look much more modern and polished than we found it to be in reality. We kept thinking that we must have pulled into the wrong hotel! When we arrived, the gentleman assisting us did not seem to know who we were. Luckily, I had a paper copy of my reservation, and after quite a bit of discussion, he said he could provide us a room. We were taken to a tiny room with twin beds which was not what we had reserved. We went back and requested a different room with a double bed. We were told that nobody would be there to prepare another room for us until 6PM, but then he changed his mind and said he would himself prepare a room with a double bed for us. So at least we were given clean bedding (although I don’t know whether any other cleaning of the room took place) and we were able to check into a room about 15 minutes later. We also had a problem with loud noises from overhead, which ended about 8PM. Then it was quiet the rest of the night and we slept pretty well. Overall, the facilities were very basic and rather worn out looking, nothing like the other hotels we stayed in during our 2 weeks in Iceland. But on a good note, the views were pretty and the staff with whom we interacted were friendly. We would not choose to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anameineed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel was our first stopover, good location, staff was very friendly and helpfull, hotel itself needs a bit of attention, room we stayed in could benefit from changing a carpet and new bathroom, however the bed was very comfortable, clean sheets and towels, we had really good sleep there. And to be honest after all day of exploring the beautifull area all you need is a comfortable bed. Only problem was very thin walls so we could hear other guests. Breakfast was ok, typical Icelandic choice ( cold buffet, toaster).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivonns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights. The room was not the best, it needed a good clean, new beds a tv and wifi (we stayed during winter and you need things to do in the dark nights). The walls were a little on the thin side too.

While I wasn't the greatest fan of the place my girlfriend really liked it. So maybe I was missing something

The staff were great, very friendly and helpful they even offer a northern lights wakeup call.

What really made the hotel stand out was their evening meals. I am not a fish fan, but my word these guys know how to cook good fish. They operate an all you can eat buffet of either fish or meat. We had the fish both nights because it was that good. The buffet consisted of a salad, bread, rice (?) and a load of other bits and bobs. But they kept on bringing out sizzling hot plates of chunks of fish which were seasoned and put in marinade. I have no idea what the fish were but they tasted heavenly and were fresh. I'd stay here again just to taste to fish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel has potential. Very helpful and friendly staff but rooms were awful. Uncomfortable, paper thin walls so that noise from other rooms was very audible and décor very worn. The type of room you didn't want to walk around in in bare feet. Was poor value for money for the price we paid and ranked bottom of all the hotels I've stayed in all over Iceland on two different trips. Wouldn't stay here again. Positives were its location out in eth countryside and yet close to local swimming pool and town and apparently one of the best place sin Iceland to see the Northern lights though we didn't see them there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravellersussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews