We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but very poor rooms.”
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but very poor rooms.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel has potential. Very helpful and friendly staff but rooms were awful. Uncomfortable, paper thin walls so that noise from other rooms was very audible and décor very worn. The type of room you didn't want to walk around in in bare feet. Was poor value for money for the price we paid and ranked bottom of all the hotels I've stayed in all over Iceland on two different trips. Wouldn't stay here again. Positives were its location out in eth countryside and yet close to local swimming pool and town and apparently one of the best place sin Iceland to see the Northern lights though we didn't see them there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellersussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    38
    17
    6
See reviews for
29
87
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel offers decent accommodation at affordable prices, across the bridge from the city. Breakfast was a spread. Wifi is free for all to use. Rooms are cosy and clean. However, we have encountered problems with the water heater, where hot water comes on and off in an erratic manner. This explains the noisy heater during the night. Nonetheless, it was a good stay!

We stayed 2 nights as a stopover whilst traveling around the golden ring route as well as Deildartunguhver (hot spring) and Grábrók volcano. We were hoping to catch the northern lights but it was hard luck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koochiehsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBru, Owner at Hotel Hafnarfjall, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
This is probably not the right place but I didn't find any better way to get the message through:
At april 18th I stopped running Hotel Bru, new people have taken over the place and I wish them all the best and hope they will make it even a better place than before. I had the most amazing time at Hotel Bru but now it's time to move on to new adventures.

Best regards,
Veigar Freyr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucesterrshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel would be an ideal first night's stopover for anyone arriving at Keflavik (80 mins via the Hvalfjörður tunnel), and then heading west or north. It's also a good alternative to use as a base for anyone preferring to stay outside Reykavik itself, being just 45 mins from the city,(again via the tunnel). From our experience, other reviews about the location, hospitality, service, accommodation and food are all accurate, and we would heartily recommend staying here. It's genuine in every respect and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night at this lovely cosy little hotel - and experienced the best service of our 6 night trip to Iceland. I described the fish buffet (served as the main evening meal) as the most delicious fish in the world - it was certainly the best fish I've ever tasted. Despite the poor weather / aurora forecast, the sky cleared and we enjoyed an exciting show by the Northern Lights. The staff were lovely, and Veigar spoiled us with hot chocolate and blankets, to keep us warm while we watched the Northern Lights with the other hotel guests. He also supplied a tripod so that my husband could take pictures of the Lights, and gave us advice as to where to visit the following day. The room was basic, but warm and clean; the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water (warning! - take off any silver jewellery - mine tarnished in the shower.). Thanks to Veigar, and the appearance of the Northern Lights, this was the most memorable night of our trip.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our stay two nights was incredible or as difficult to explain as the northern lights. It did not warrant the 5/5 due to the room being just slightly marginal and the heater being ultra sensitive.
But other than the physical aspects of a very simple room the rest of the experience is what I am rating. we did not go to stay in the room.
To begin, Veiger and staff were incredibly accommodating and made our stay there as one of the most memorable we've ever had. The meals served were good and very satisfying to hungry travelers but the overall experience is what made the stay phenomenal.
It didn't hurt that the second evening was a stellar display of the Aurora. We saw a small light show the first night but the second night a small group of six were enjoying mother nature at its finest along with the hospitality of Veiger. Going way beyond what a host would do he treated us as family while we watched and enjoyed at his place.
While staying there, his knowledge of the area is how we made our itinerary and the day was full and great

Room Tip: Sleep quality was hindered to the lateness of the Aurora
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddenvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Wow, if you are visiting Iceland you must visit Veigar and his staff at Hotel Bru.

On arrival, Veigar was very welcoming and suggested places to see and things to do in the area that afternoon. We took his advice and what an incredible time we had as a result.

The fish buffet was amazing and following dinner, Veigar sat with some of the guests and taught us more about Icelandic culture. He was very friendly and generous and I would challenge anyone to find a better host.

We only stayed one night but I wished we had stayed there longer. If we return to Iceland, we will definitely be staying at Hotel Bru again.

Hotel Bru is very cheap for what you are getting, I would say you are not just paying for a room, you are paying for the experience.

One the morning that we were leaving, Veigar showed us other places to go in Iceland, and I have to say if it had not been for him the holiday would not have been as special as it was, especially recommending that we take the drive to Jokulsarlon.

If you are looking for a hotel with all the mod-cons then this is not the hotel for you but if you just want a pleasant, clean bedroom to put your head down after an exciting day's exploring and an owner who clearly cares about his guests, then Hotel Bru is a must.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that faces the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaggy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose this Hotel to get out of the city and hope to see the Northern Lights - luckily for us they showed up! The Hotel offers a wake up service, but we didn't need it because we were already up watching them for so long - they did however make us hot chocolate to take outside and continue to watch. Breakfast was included, but was very simple. There's not a lot happening in Borgarnes but this would be a great stop on the way to the Snæfellsnes Peninsula. Only about an hour north of Reykjavic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
342 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
528 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
20.0 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
69 reviews
20.6 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjall

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjall
Address: Hafnarskogur, Borgarnes 311, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bru - Bridge Hotel)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hafnarfjall 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the bridge crossing Borgarfjordur bay, across the water from the town of Borgarnes Hotel Bru provides the simple comforts of home in a cozy atmosphere, a place you can sit and chat as the sun turns the bay first golden, then fiery red. Just a few hundred meters from the main road, Hotel Bru has a homey feel to it, whilst providing the facilities expected in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing