We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel -- must stay”
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel -- must stay”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If I'm ever in Iceland again, I will make a point to return to Hotel Bru. The staff was friendly and helpful, and explained the Northern Lights phenomenon to us. (We didn't get to see them while at the Bru, but saw some slight ones the next night on our trip.) The rooms were great, beds soft and cozy, only minor complaint was my bed was literally right next to the heater and thought I'd be set on fire. The dinner--a seasonal seafood buffet--in the Bru restaurant was the best meal we had on the trip, easy. So delicious. And entirely affordable! After dinner, we chilled in the lobby and played games and read and wrote and overall it was a great evening. There isn't much to do in Borgarnes, so perhaps it is more of a transitory place to stop for a night, but you won't do better if you do.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almostaghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    36
    17
    6
See reviews for
28
86
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham,Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Hotel Bru is just outside Borganes, it is a modest hotel with small rooms, at least the one we got. It is very basic but good enough for a night stay after driving and hiking all day. The main lobby is very nice and cozy, the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful. The Chef makes a daily buffet that is very good. It may have been the best part of the of our stay. The food was really delicious, nicely presented and the chef was there. Even with such basic rooms, I actually loved this hotel and the view of Borganes is gorgeous. See the photos

Room Tip: The rooms outside will have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in Bru hotel. The rooms (we had one with share toilet though you can get some with private facilities) were small and basic, but the bed was comfortable. The walls are thin and we had to tell our neighbours that they were too loud after 10pm, as we are light sleepers. But then they realized and it was not a problem.
We liked the location, the service and the dinner. It was fresh fish buffet and we loved it. Everyone was welcoming and attentive. I think the price is good for what you get.
The manager talked to us for a long time about aurora. It was not a good night for that. But he gave us a lot of info to check the next nights in the internet. They even have a wake up call and can wake you up in case of aurora... That is great if you dont need to be away all night waiting...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice hotel 2 miles outside town. Friendly staff and nice bar/restaurant. Room was small and walls were a bit thin as I could hear the people next door but very clean and bed was comfortable. Nice views across the bay to the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBSKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is my opinion about it.
Rooms tiny. The noisy comes from other guests for lack of isolating. The ristorante service is very good. The breakfast was in the very continental way. Location is good. Staff very kinde.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The rooms were basic but comfortable. However the food and service were outstanding. The inn keeper was very friendly and spent a great deal of time talking to us about the area and food. The rest of the staff were all very helpful as well. The food was some of the best we had in Iceland, fresh well prepared fish for dinner, and a large varied breakfast buffet in the morning. Best coffee we had on our whole trip, and we sampled a lot of coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike9632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is very hard to grade as the rooms and facilities are very basic, but the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the location beautiful.
Our room was small and rather cramped, but we really enjoyed our stay. We ate there in the evening and had a fantastic fish buffet with an endless supply of different fresh fish and home baked bread. When we asked what time the evening meal was served, the reply was 'when you want it'!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have ensuite facilities if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
331 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
523 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
131 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
63 reviews
1.7 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjall

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjall
Address: Hafnarskogur, Borgarnes 311, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bru - Bridge Hotel)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hafnarfjall 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the bridge crossing Borgarfjordur bay, across the water from the town of Borgarnes Hotel Bru provides the simple comforts of home in a cozy atmosphere, a place you can sit and chat as the sun turns the bay first golden, then fiery red. Just a few hundred meters from the main road, Hotel Bru has a homey feel to it, whilst providing the facilities expected in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing