We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a FANTASTIC STAY IN A WONDERFUL PLACE!!!!”
Review of Hotel Hafnarfjall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
milano
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a FANTASTIC STAY IN A WONDERFUL PLACE!!!!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a very cosy experience to stay in this Hotel-Restaurant!
Well located on the see side of the Fiord BreidaFiordur has got a very nice interior looking and a very pleasant staff.

Rooms are wide enough, with a very good and convenient restaurant!

An express self service fish of the day menu! All you can eat with a very good freshness and quality!

Cleaness of the room and of the bathroom is execent and in the lobby and restaurant you have a very nice ambiance without any smell coming from the Kitchen!

Only positive experiance!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabry54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    36
    17
    6
See reviews for
28
84
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent one night here as part of a larger trip around Iceland. The hotel is well-located, just across the bridge from Borgarnes. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable given the price. The only real complaint about the room is that the water smelled strongly of sulfur, but I understand that this is common for the area.

The owner was very welcoming and gave excellent advice regarding driving routes and Iceland in general. The breakfast was quite good as well.

I would happily stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We thought we were going to eat at the Settlement Centre, only to find that they closed in the evening (despite having checked with them in the morning that they would be open!) However, it was suggested we tried the Hotel Bru which is just over the bridge into Borganes. What a wonderful discovery. If we had been in Borganes longer we would certainly have eaten there each night. Warm welcome; excellent food, cooked with that 'special' touch that not all chefs have. Friendly and welcoming. Superb views and obviously a good choice for staying overnight, but certainly for eating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaPolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The staff at the hotel Bru understand the meaning of hospitality. We were greeted warmly and Vegar, the manager, spent considerable time with us talking about fishing, culture, language and much more. We tried the Icelandic lamb and trout and would expect to pay twice the price anywhere in the world for such a gourmet experience. The drink portions were generous too. I complained to the manager that the food was TOO good. On the other hand, the rooms facing the beach on the second floor are very tiny. We rented a room with a shared bath and I noticed there were 3 bathrooms for 9 rooms which is a pretty good ratio. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was pretty standard for Iceland. But after breakfast, Vegar was again generous with his time, sharing travel tips and chatting. An entirely pleasant experience. The double bed was very comfortable. The hotel is outside of town which would make it the perfect spot for Northern Lights in the winter. But it is just minutes into Borgarnes if you need to shop or want to see the lovely settlement museum. It was the perfect spot for us to stage our visit to the Snaefellsness peninsula.

Room Tip: If you need a larger room, get one with a bath on the 1st floor. The 2nd floor rooms with shared ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

As stated by many before...when you stay here you feel like family and eat the most magnificent meals at a very reasonable price. Veigar is a host without equal and WOW does he know how prepare food. During our stay my wife and I ate lobster soup, lamb (nail) soup, whale, cod and salmon. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Iceland we will indeed return to the Hotel Bru....as long as Veigar and his wife are in charge.

Again as stated by many before....the rooms are small but the beds very comfortable. One of the best travel experiences we have had.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I have visited many countries and slept in many hotels in my life but Bru wasn't only our best choice in our Icelandic road trip but also one of the best places I have ever been hosted at. Top quality customer service, making the guests feel like at home and at the same time giving fantastic tips on how to hunt the northern lights!!

The rooms are neat and clean and the restaurant is open till very late, serving delicious food fairly priced. The location is really convenient if in a road trip (just off route 1) and not too far from Reykjavik.

I don't normally write reviews about places but this one definitely deserves it!

Takk Veigar! this was definitely a stay we will always remember.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

After a fairly tepid welcome at some of the hotels we'd stayed at in an Easter dash around the island, it was so nice to stay at one where the owner seemed genuinely pleased to see us and was happy to sit and chat while we had a drink. While just off Highway 1, the location feels very secluded with wonderful views across the water to Borganes and of the mountains. The dining room/bar is a lovely, cosy room which also benefits from great views. A choice of food seemed luxurious after the fixed menus we'd seen elsewhere - off season so low occupancy - and was very good. The rooms are fairly basic (no TV) but absolutely fine (large bed, excellent shower). We would thoroughly recommend this, particularly if you want somewhere that feels 'remote' but is still easy to get to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.8 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
323 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
518 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Borgarnes
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hafnarfjall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hafnarfjall

Property: Hotel Hafnarfjall
Address: Hafnarskogur, Borgarnes 311, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Bru - Bridge Hotel)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hafnarfjall 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the bridge crossing Borgarfjordur bay, across the water from the town of Borgarnes Hotel Bru provides the simple comforts of home in a cozy atmosphere, a place you can sit and chat as the sun turns the bay first golden, then fiery red. Just a few hundred meters from the main road, Hotel Bru has a homey feel to it, whilst providing the facilities expected in a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Hafnarfjall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing