We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good audio”

The Settlement Center
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Borgarnes
Attraction details
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good audio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I didn't want the audio at first but was told it was necessary! It was on an iPod so light to carry and easy to use. There would not have been enough written information without it! Good presentation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    184
    38
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“To have a Tripadvisor award sometines has is drawbacks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went there ot visit the centrum but first we decied to have luncha. What a mistake!!!. The service was terrible Waitress didn't give an answer to any of our questions, nor a look, to see that we were waiting. Nothint in comparison with other people we see standing dot 20 minutes to be seated. It's true that the restaurant was full because a bus of americans, but in my opinion if you have the seats you mous have the service.
The food was not better. And the price were high
We left without seeing anythingh else. Our worst experience in two weeks trip to Iceland!!. The drawbacks of being awarded by Tripadvisor. They have the clients, so why make any effort to treat well the new clients.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Triper_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice gift shop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The gift shop had some really unique items that I didn't see anywhere else in Iceland. Not cheap though. The exhibit was a bore for me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelEnthusiastYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a find. Lovely fresh food at reasonable prices. The only place we found with a lunch buffet of salads, soup, fresh fruit and coffee. Perfect for the vegetarian / vegan.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Londontravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Possibly the best museum in Iceland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I came to Iceland because of the Sagas - something I had been interested in since I was a child. It was wonderful to see Egil's Saga brought to life through art, craft and words in this museum, along with a wider exposition of the Settlement era.

The museum has a great style throughout and the audio guides are wonderful at evoking the atmosphere of times past. We had little time to spare but this stop was a perfect way to end our holiday in Iceland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Settlement Center also viewed

Borgarnes, West Region
 
Borgarnes, West Region
 

Been to The Settlement Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing