We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ensku Husin Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We were the only guests and had the whole house for ourself. Everything was old but clean and the house is traditional and beautiful. The location is great as well, particularly if your travelling on the ring road up North.
Breakfast was simple but good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iroquois77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 180 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

We stayed at the 'Old English Lodge' for one night on our way to the Snaefellsness peninsula. We stayed upstairs, where rooms have 2 twin beds, a small sink, and a shared bathroom. The rooms were small (we left extra luggage in the car) but clean and comfortable, and the shared bath/shower was nice (the hot water does not smell like sulfur here). They had free wireless internet in the main part of the house.

The main part of the house (dining room, living room, and upstairs bedroom) are original to the house, and have a very charming character & a great history. The hotel rooms w/private bath are newer, and we didn't explore these. The hotel is run by the same family that has owned the house for 3 generations, and they are very good and take pride in their work. The dinner was excellent (I had the fish, my husband had the lamb). I think there was also a vegetarian option. The breakfast buffet was a little more limited than other places, but still quite good, with toast, ham, & cheese, tomatoes & cucumbers, skyr, and a couple different cereals.

The hotel is a 10-15 minute drive from Borgarnes. There is a cute little waterfall within walking distance that we enjoyed after checking in. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night on 13 August. My parents were in 1 room with bathroom and myself, husband and 2 yr old daughter in another room with bathroom. Our room was particularly big and there was lots of room to move around even with the cot. The view from the room over the tidal river was lovely. It was nice to stay in a place that had character and a history. We used the sitting room to eat our lunch in and helped ourselves to the crockery in the kitchen and made ourselves at home. The hotel is a 10 min drive from Borganes where there are all conveniences. We ate at the gueshouse in the evening and had delicious pan fried salmon. Again it was like eating at someone's house as it was relaxed and didn't feel like a stuffy restaurant. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmyTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed there after two weeks of travelling across Iceland with new accomodation evry night so this was our last stay of 13. The location has an intersting history and is run by the relatives of one of the historical owners. We had a very good dinner, the rooms are quiet, clean and stylish (adapted to the historial site)
Special thanks to the Chef, who fixed a problem with our tire right after finishing the cooking job. We have felt in good hands there in any manner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiebf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

My friend and I stayed for one night at Ensku Husin on our round trip in Iceland. We were a bit early for check-in and our room was not ready yet, but the very helpful staff cleaned it out really quickly so that we could settle in and make plans for the rest of the day.
The beds are really comfy, I slept very well!
Breakfast was served in the old house which has a nice history. There are lots of photos on the wall of the people who have lived here.
The house is well located for a trip to Snaefellsnes and is really close to Borgarnes where you can find some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

the hotel is located next to the bank of a river with a beautiful back drop of the mountains, it felt very special. the house had a soul and the staff were more than happy to tell its story, which was something we didn't find in other hotels in iceland.
the rooms were clean and homely and the food was delicious. staff were friendly and welcoming, even able to provide a foreigners insight into what is particually interesting to see and do.
very happy with our stay, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia55Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We can highly recommend to stay at the Ensku Husin. Our visit gave us the most wonderful experience. When arriving the staff gave us a warm welcome, gave us maps and told about opportunities in the area. At the evening we enjoyed a delicious dinner in the Hotels restaurant. We can recommend the salmon - is was absolutely tasty.

The hotel has an old fashion charme and it has a really great atmosphere. The view from our room was fantastic, the hotel is placed in a relaxing area right next to the water, green areas and a 10 minuts walk to nearby waterfalls.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
3.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
386 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel
#1 of 2 in Bifrost
268 reviews
16.1 mi away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
200 reviews
28.5 mi away
Hotel Rjukandi
Hotel Rjukandi
#1 of 14 in Borgarnes
251 reviews
3.9 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Borgarnes
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ensku Husin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ensku Husin Guesthouse

Address: By river Langa, Borgarnes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Borgarnes
Price Range: $125 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ensku Husin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing