We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Certificate of Excellence
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is truly a hidden gem in the country flora of Iceland. The friendly homely feeling is superb. All vegetables home grown, local sourcing, organic foods. The restaurant is a real surprise, more like the quality of upscale down town city hotspots. Taste the lamb or fish dishes, I tried the chicken mango chili salad, it was unbelievable, tasty and fresh. Go there!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Svanssone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much your great review it means a lot to us to hear that you were happy with your stay here.

Best regards,

Brynja and Jóhann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    64
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
117
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at Hraunsnef on the first night of our trip around Iceland.

We were given a cabin for the whole family and it was really good and comfortable. We had the highest one up the slope and so had great views back across the valley. There are two hot tubs with a similar view!

Dinner was good and the breakfast was the best we had in Iceland.

The boys loved climbing the volcano just back down the road in the Reykjavik direction.

Would recommend and hope to be able to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We hope you will come again. We are always changing and adding new things i.e. we are from now on adding to the farm animals here so perhaps your boys could help feed the animals next time.

Best regards,

Brynja and Jóhann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

It was a nice experience living in the farm and even some of the vegetables we ate were grown by the farm. The surroundings were nice with a towering cliff at the back. The hot tub was outdoors next to a small stream. The staff were friendly. The 2 dogs we saw were incredibly cute!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I went there for a short weekend break, just the two of us. We had a very relaxing time. The service was exellent, the staff so friendly and the food was great, we particularly liked the eggs they served for breakfast which come from their own hens. We loved the beautiful scenery which we enjoyed from the hot tubs under a starlit sky. We will definetly be going there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlofB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

The best stay during out 10 day trip around Iceland in February 2011 including the west through Snaefellus Peninsula and south to Hofn. Warm, quaint and hospitable this family run business is top notch! The beds were comfy, the food was great and the outdoor hottub in February was a truly Icelandic experience. The rooms even had slippers and robes to keep us toasty warm!!

We had an amazing dinner in the small resturant - try the bread salad and fish! We went back to our rooms, exhausted after our long snowy drive and crashed on the beds. At around 10pm we heard a knock at our door and the host let us know that there was a Northern Lights spotting. We quickly jumped out of bed so we could see the sights and much to our pleasure there were streaks of green in the sky. The host let us know that the family dog would escort us up the hill so we could see the lights even better so we took a short hike up the hill for the very best view. What an amazing and hospitable experience!!

There is not much around this hotel but the natural area is really beautiful. A great place to see the lights and enjoy the hospitality of some of the best hosts in Iceland!

Room Tip: The room on the top floor in the corner is really special. There is wifi in the common areas and a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Country Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for this excellent review. It makes us really happy to hear that people like their stay with us.

We weren't sure if we should bother you for the lights but are pleased to hear that you liked it.

Best regards,

Brynja and Jóhann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We found Hraunsnef after a google search as we wanted to spend Christmas in Iceland. Taking a bit of a risk we decided to book a three night stay including their special Christmas package staying 24 to 26 December. From the moment we arrived we knew we made the right decision. We loved the ambience of this place and our hosts Brynja and Johan (sorry if misspelt) were amazing. It felt like we were staying with family and friends rather than being paying guests. The rooms were lovely, very clean and cozy and so warm. The Christmas meals taken in the barn which was in itself so beautifully decorated were amazing. The quality of the food and cooking was incredible. It was also very authentic as many of the dishes were traditional local Christmas dishes. We loved that and it was exactly what we wanted from our Christmas experience. The breakfasts were so good too. Brynja had all sorts of homemade delights for us including some amazing pork liver pate. The hot tubs were also fantastic and we made good use of these. It was wonderful sitting in geothermal water at 37 degrees with a cold wind and snow blowing around your face. We just did not want to leave after our three night stay. We stayed in Iceland until after New Years evening and although we stayed in some good other venues this experience at Hraunsnef was easily the highlight of our stay. We are planning our return in the summer already !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I visited Hotel Hraunsnef last October for a much-needed romantic getaway. We stayed for one night, had a fantastic three course meal in the restaurant and breakfast in the morning. Our plan was to relax in a cosy country hotel, and Hraunsnef did not dissapoint. It is like a farm-stay in luxury rooms, with a great restaurant. The room we stayed in was upstairs in the main hotel building, with a front-facing window and a great view. We were greeeted on arrival by two friendly dogs, and got a very warm welcome by the hotel owner, who showed us around. The outdoor hot tub looked great, but because the weather was quite wet and windy, we did not try it. Bathrobes and sandals were provided in the room, should we have wanted to take a dip. We definitely recommend the restaurant. The tasty food was made from local ingredients, imaginatively prepared and fresh. We will be staying at Hraunsnef again, for sure. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bifrost
19.6 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
22.4 mi away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
13.8 mi away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
22.4 mi away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hraunsnef Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Country Hotel

Property: Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hraunsnef Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing