We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charge-up weekend in the snowy hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The first impression was not quite positive. We were promised to have a room in the Renaissance wing, but we had to change dates and they just put us to the Romantique wing. The castle looks pretty from the outside and the interior is fairly nice, too. However there are signs of saving costs on maintenance. We asked for a double room, but were given twin beds put next to each other and easily slipping away. From the advertisements one can think that it is a wellness resort, but you would not go there because of that. The sauna is mini and the turkish-bath is built with faults. The squash court is not the standard size, it was hard to play.
Upon accepting the conditions we enjoyed almost everything, especially the beautiful surroundings, the snowy weather, the fresh air and the athmosphere this hotel was providing. We had half-board and the food was delicious, congratulations to the chef. The great dinner though would deserve some quality wine, but they serve in the glass just the house ones. Service on the other hand is excellent, the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
We had two day-trips in the surroundings, one to the Ilona-waterfall from Parád and the other to the Sirok castle-ruins. Eventually, warming-up in the wellness after such is trips is rewarding.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TibiHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent 2 days at this hotel as a family of four two days ago.


From outside the castle is breathtaking. When you enter you see that it has seen better days. The wooden wall covers, doors, door handles are shabby and loose. It is the same with the furniture. Everything is loose and moving.
I think the hotel opened in 1996 and since then there were not any renewals. Perfect example is the bowling area. All the balls are cracked. They have very rough surface as they were not changed during the 17 years. In the wellness area many tiles are broken and loose. It has the impression of a socialist era holiday home, with a sauna for two person, where the wooden seat is burnt and unstable. The emergency signal switch in the sauna is molten and looks like a Salvador Dali painting. Really weird. If I want a glass of water after the sauna, I have to ask the guy at the desk, who brings a plastic cup with water from somewhere. No water dispenser, or tea, or anything. The staff I think is mix of the older employees who already worked there in the 5 star times. They are absolutelly polite and make a great effort to make up for the uncompetitive newer staff members. The chef at the restaurant is good, although I could feel that there were economic issues in the menu. The prices of drinks at the restaurants represent 5 star, with a pint of beer for 6 EUR. They have low quality wine that is available in commercial trade for 4 to 5 EUR / bottle and they have it for 22EUR. Better not comment it....
I am willing to pay higher price for high grade catering, but paying the same high price in 3 star environment is not what I want. Generally many of the negative issues were not the question of money. If you want to try a hotel that is similar in mood, there is the Andrassy residence in Tarcal. It is 5 stars and I really colud not find a fault there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Viktor_HU_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent an amazing couple of days here with larger family in August. The castle, the park were wonderful. The restaurant was excellent, but some other services were less satisfactory.

Every meal at the restaurant had a good selection, great service, wonderful surroundings. One of the waiters was kind enough to do magic tricks to entertain the kids, convince them to finish their meals. On the downside, the outside section was under continuous attack from wasps. They had traps set up, but obviously many were attracted by the food we were eating, so we had to put some effort into keeping them away.

There was supposed to be 5 o'clock tea with some cookies by the pool. Unfortunately the cookies were practically gone few minutes after five and they weren't too quick on refilling the hot water for tea.

We enjoyed a good bowling session one evening on a well functioning alley with a bar, but they kind of killed the atmosphere when the personnel without warning just shut off the alley in the middle of a game. When I asked what happened, he just told me they close at 10.

Since we came with in total 4 children, we were very glad about the play room filled with toys for all ages. Although most were damaged in some way, kids could still enjoy playing there.

As a tech addict, I was very happy about great wifi coverage including the outside pool area.

All in all, we had a great time, enjoyed our stay with only a few annoyances.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is luxurious and clean with lots of proud history. We enjoyed the food and horseriding here and also the tennis and games room.
The family photos of the aristocracy who lived here a hundred years ago gives it a cosy authentic feel. The rooftop view from the tower across the forest is spectacular too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picksie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have just read some of the other reviews, which I feel are over critical. Firstly this is not a five star hotel, but you can expect a very high four star.

The positives; the setting is magnificent, what you see on the photo is what you get. The rooms are comfortable and nicely designed, the food was excellent, plenty of it and the restaurant staff extremely friendly.

The negatives; clearly the hotel are making cuts, like everywhere - I could list a few maintenance gripes, the TV remote not working properly etc, whether this is due to cuts or management, I don't know, but I guess the latter. The front office staff could have been more smiley, but the restaurant team made up for them.

All in all, at 60 Euro per night, including breakfast and a sumptuous all you could eat dinner, to start picking holes would be petty. My advice, go, relax, enjoy, eat and be merry...AND marvel at the beauty of it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area, full of forests and hiking routes (I found a nice running route in the forest with moderate elevation) starting from the front door of the hotel practically. The hotel is nicely renovated, we were in the Renaissance wing, room was nice, spacey, clean, quite, no complaints. It had proper lighting, what is exceptional (most hotels rooms are dark). Breakfast and dinner is nice as well. I would not say 5*, nothing is prepared fresh, no grill, no morning omelet as you wish or pancakes, but it was OK. Hotel was booked out but still we could use most of the services (massage, squash, Jacuzzi, outside pool) without waiting or so.
They should improve on the personal as they are nice but unprofessional and sometime this is disturbing, minibar is not as one would expect in this segment (only coke, water, alcohol, no juice or some proper wine), TV in the room was a joke...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonya20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have engagement in a luxury suite, plus 2 person champagne dinner in a banquet-hall at Friday evening. Very well and delicious everything, and my girlfriend said yes :)
Some hotel employees are very polite and pretty.
But the next day we arrived at the dining room (accross the garden, with scarf and coat), and the main staff maybe thought we aren't hotel guests and he was very rude and noisy. The chef made fun of the restaurant chief and asked me, he helped us everything, any special request.
The wellness is old and small for the luxury five star hotel, but the suite is huge, and the jacuzzi and sauna was in the bathroom of the suite.
Some small, but important things cause of the 4 points, not 5.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Istvan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradsasvar
3.9 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
4.1 mi away
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
#2 of 2 in Matrahaza
172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
#1 of 1 in Galyateto
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Erzsebet Park Hotel - Paradfurdo
16.7 mi away
Saliris Resort
Saliris Resort
#1 of 2 in Egerszalok
313 reviews
21.8 mi away
Teleki-Degenfeld Kastelyszallo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel

Address: Kossuth Lajos ut 1, Paradsasvar 3242, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Paradsasvar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Paradsasvar
Price Range: $104 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing