We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Syvota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Retreat Beachclub
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Syvota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Never been on a Neilson holiday before and I wish I hadn't wasted so many years going on other holidays. We had a fantastic time, staff were great, especially Ian our windsurf instructor, other guests were all very friendly. It was an amazing holiday, I just wish we had more time there as I didn't get to do everything I wanted to because I simply didn't have enough hours in the day and there was so much choice. The food was plentiful, the BBQ was tasty, the sports were so good I was out of bed earlier than I usually am for work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 636 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

plus points: truely awesome setting, wonderfull staff, more or less perfect weather even in October, and a beautifull village/fishing port about half a mile away.Every sport known to man available...at a price. great food. Great restaurants in Sivota (The Steak House) and bars (B
amboo place). Great fellow guests. The restaurant and domestic staff deserve special praise for their hard work, efficiency, and friendliness.
The one trip we took to Parga on a "free evening" expensive (included nothing more than the coach ride!) was brilliant too.Good thing during the holiday we had plenty of money as more or less all the activities charged for, plus the bar charges much higher than in village.
Against: take your own beach towel...E10 a week to hire one! Awfull room, dont, i repeat, dont get billeted in room 433. dreadfull view on rising stairs with no private sitting area. One set of Patio windows, one opaque as seal failed and stained panel of glass. No seat in room to sit on other than dressing stool or the beds. Cost of all extras.Theyve a captive audience as nowhere nearbye to go and boy do they milk it!.
Just like the set of thePrisoner, all charm and control. Makes the 3 days you dont get an evening meal in a week the chance to escape and explore lovely Sivota a pure joy!
You cant book a day tour either from the Retreat or the village, a sort of sublime quandry in just the most PERFECT setting we have EVER seen.
David Davies and Derek Livesey.
Would stay in Sivota again, but not here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidwalterdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently got back from a fabulous holiday in Syvota, although I may need another holiday to get over it!!

ROOMS - Basic but to a decent standard, if not a little tired. Excellent shower, very clean (and cleaned properly every day) but you need to pay extra for a kettle

FOOD - Great food, with a good choice for every meal. Drinks you pay extra for except for water at the table (and tea/coffee, fruit juice for breakfast) A welcome change to leave the hotel and eat elsewhere though. The BBQ I cannot recommend I am afraid as it was almost the same as eating at the restaurant on a normal night and I would have preferred the extra night out.

ACTIVITIES - Fantastic! Loads to do, loads of staff on hand, plenty of instruction and also ability to borrow equipment such as bikes and paddle boards and do your own thing. No proper gym there but so much else to do unless you are a desperate muscle mary you shouldn't miss it!

HOTEL - Divided into hotel and garden rooms. Exactly the same but location meant the garden rooms involved a fair amount of walking to food and bar. BUT I still am glad I stayed in the garden rooms, a little more private I think. Many steps as everyone has commented on, and all part of the fitness drive! Everywhere was clean and accessible.

STAFF - Everyone was friendly, helpful and seemed to be pleased to be there as well as help you. Restaurant, bar and reception were particularly good.

LOCAL AREA - Beautiful part of Greece and would happily come back to the area. Syvota is ten min walk down the hill of doom, but a 4 or 5 euro taxi up, or a 2.50 Euro boat trip. The Steak House in Syvota was easily the best restaurant, great food, massive portions, good service, free dips and dessert, and raki!, and the meals were very reasonably priced. Wish I had gone here more actually, and instead of the other places that all seemed ok but not as good value or as nice.
The area is undulating and makes for some lovely cycling or hiking. Some great scenery, nice localish towns such as Parga and Plataria which we reached by bike.

We were lucky and had amazing weather for the first week and ok weather the second. We spent some time at the beach area and pool (which were not huge) but I like to get my tan while attempting to get fitter so did plenty of the activities provided and was not bothered by the lack of space, although I never struggled to get a sun bed. Great atmosphere from all the guests too. Defo would return!! - with more Mosquito repellent too!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
Thank sharonagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Everthing about this holiday was exactly as it was promissed even the weather was superb. We booked a restricted view room in the main hotel & got an excellent room overlooking the pool & goat island! The food was plentiful with varied options every night so those who said it was repetative must have tried around 10 different dishes each night. The staff really make you feel welcome and nothing is to much trouble. We managed to try most activities but it was a bit dissapointing that the main ski boat was out of action the week we were there. Neverthless the ski & wakeboard team seemed to fit most of us in for at least one tow per day. There are two things I will not miss aboutn this hotel though!!!!!! The mozzies and the steps! Well done neilson, we will deffinately be trying another resort next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
Thank 319Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Can't praise this hotel enough. Lovely room, spectacular views, wonderful food. Staff all very helpful and friendly.
Neilsen has hit on a winning formula: amazing array of activities, with expert tuition, for all ages and abilities. You can be as active or as idle as you like. Can thoroughly recommend the spa. Only gripe would be the number of steps: not suitable for people with mobility problems.
Excellent kids' clubs, though again, glad I didn't have to negotiate steps with a pushchair. Otherwise, a fantastic place for a great holiday. Despite being more active than usual, felt relaxed and refreshed at the end of our stay. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on same level as restaurant if you struggle with steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofalofa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a week's holiday at the end of September and really rate this place. The setting was beautiful with wonderful views out across the bay and islands, Facilities excellent, a great choice of sporting activities and high calibre staff who provided excellent training, support and fun. Nothing too much trouble. Plenty of steps to get you fit.
Food good standard with plenty of choices from the buffet selection.
Try it , you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a garden room, just away from the bar area if you want an quieter early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindenhouse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a wonderful setting for a fantastic week in the sun. The food was of excellent quality and wow to much at times hey ho that’s why we go on holiday i suppose for a little bit of excess. The activities offered were varied and plentiful although i couldn’t pluck up courage to go water skiing but tried pretty much all the other activities on offer. The young staff working at the retreat worked tirelessly to ensure all guests enjoyed their holiday. The only blot on a wonderful week was the food and beverage manager Pan shame on you!! It was like a storm cloud bursting upon the scene when he walked into the restaurant. He scared the young members of staff half to death, not a way to inspire a team to perform. It doesnt hurt to greet your guests with a polite hello are you enjoying your stay? However not detracting from this i wouldn’t hesitate booking at retreat again BRAVO Neilson.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syvota
0.2 mi away
Domotel Agios Nikolaos
Domotel Agios Nikolaos
#3 of 10 in Syvota
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aqua Oliva Resort
Aqua Oliva Resort
#10 of 10 in Syvota
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ornella Beach Hotel
Ornella Beach Hotel
#7 of 10 in Syvota
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
San Marina Hotel
San Marina Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kavos
79 reviews
6.7 mi away
Angelika Pallas
Angelika Pallas
#3 of 8 in Igoumenitsa
77 reviews
11.5 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#6 of 34 in Parga
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Retreat Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Retreat Beachclub

Address: 10 min walk from harbour, Syvota, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Thesprotia Region > Syvota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Syvota
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
The Retreat Hotel Syvota
Retreat Hotel Sivota
Neilson Retreat Beachclub Greece/Syvota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing