We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Syvota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neilson Retreat Beachclub
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Syvota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a week's holiday at the end of September and really rate this place. The setting was beautiful with wonderful views out across the bay and islands, Facilities excellent, a great choice of sporting activities and high calibre staff who provided excellent training, support and fun. Nothing too much trouble. Plenty of steps to get you fit.
Food good standard with plenty of choices from the buffet selection.
Try it , you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a garden room, just away from the bar area if you want an quieter early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindenhouse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 636 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a wonderful setting for a fantastic week in the sun. The food was of excellent quality and wow to much at times hey ho that’s why we go on holiday i suppose for a little bit of excess. The activities offered were varied and plentiful although i couldn’t pluck up courage to go water skiing but tried pretty much all the other activities on offer. The young staff working at the retreat worked tirelessly to ensure all guests enjoyed their holiday. The only blot on a wonderful week was the food and beverage manager Pan shame on you!! It was like a storm cloud bursting upon the scene when he walked into the restaurant. He scared the young members of staff half to death, not a way to inspire a team to perform. It doesnt hurt to greet your guests with a polite hello are you enjoying your stay? However not detracting from this i wouldn’t hesitate booking at retreat again BRAVO Neilson.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Cant rate this hotel and staff high enough what a fabulous place sheer beautiful x the staff can't do enough for you food do much choice your spoilt and the manager goes more than the extra mile to make sure everything is to your satisfaction nothing is too much trouble. Sammy in the spa is the same such a warm and very helpful young lady . Definitely will be going back 2013

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trendy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely resort with mega helpful staff , fun to walk through water to beach area and not a problem at all .food lovely and surely something for all tastes and the non inclusive nights were extremely good with the standard of food offered even better if that's possiable ?
Small niggles paying for towel rental,kettle and wifi ,felt all a bit petty ! However the positives would defiantly make it worth a return visit and especially as improvements meant to be happening in the winter,should be worth seeing in 2013 !

Room Tip: Garden rooms ,amazing views and although loads of steps ,well worth it for the view,with great sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrysy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have had a wonderful week at the Retreat. The hotel is lovely, very clean and tidy in a beautiful setting.
Food very good selection, much of it freshly cooked.
Virtually all the staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful - especially the beach crew.
Would like to have a board walk from pontoon to beach to save climbing up and then down all those steps!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
Thank ikkyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at The Retreat in September, all the good positive things that previous writers have said I agree on entirely - the views are fab, the location is great, the food is all good and the staff are a great friendly bunch. You can do as much or as little of the activities that you want to do, there is something for aeveryone. Yes the steps are tiresome but after the third or fourth day we got used to them and we are in our 50's - you need the extra exercise after all the delicious food. Our room 117 was light and spacious and kept very clean, we had lovely views and liked relaxing before dinner sitting watching the world go by.
If I had to complain about one thing the only thing I can think of is the lack of cushions on the sunbeds - on the days when we wanted to chill out by the pool we found the sunbeds really uncomfortable after about an hour.
We were so taken up with the place that when we got back on the Sunday we booked almost straight away to return next year which is something we have never done before - we found a good deal on the website and decided to go for two weeks next year. Can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Room 117 has great views and not too far from the bar and restaurant either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurstyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned from our holiday with Neilson in Sivota. We have had many holidays with Neilson in the past.

The resort is to undergo major refurbishment over winter 2012 with many new rooms to be added & apparently many new exciting features.

From the activities perspective we had a great holiday & it is this that makes us Neilson regulars. The tennis courts are showing severe signs of wear, but again there are new ones planned for next season. I took the premium wakeboard package (325 euros). It was expensive, but the conditions were superb & the pontoon team excellent. I really wanted to make the most of it & didn't feel I could get enough on standard tows alone.

An unexpected surprise was a great kayaking program run by an enthusiastic & extremely competent team (Calum & Stewart). Having never done any qualifications in the sport it was great to come home with level 1 & complete a rolling clinic.

Our 11month old son was very well cared for & entertained in the Starfish club.

The club board food overall was good with a variety of choices on offer. I have to say though that the quality of catering was not as good as the standard we experienced in Neilson Lesvos.

The cleanliness of eating areas was at times poor, often with food left on ground. Fresh tablecloths were placed on dirty tables. The child high chairs were often completely uncleaned between meals & this was raised with the staff on many occasions without improvement. This again is in contrast to Lesvos where the high chairs were regularly cleaned & even trays put through the dishwasher between sittings.

Our room was well cleaned by very friendly Greek staff.



  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank peat_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syvota
0.2 mi away
Domotel Agios Nikolaos
Domotel Agios Nikolaos
#3 of 10 in Syvota
140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aqua Oliva Resort
Aqua Oliva Resort
#10 of 10 in Syvota
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ornella Beach Hotel
Ornella Beach Hotel
#7 of 10 in Syvota
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
San Marina Hotel
San Marina Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kavos
79 reviews
6.7 mi away
Angelika Pallas
Angelika Pallas
#3 of 8 in Igoumenitsa
77 reviews
11.5 mi away
Parga Beach Resort
Parga Beach Resort
#6 of 34 in Parga
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neilson Retreat Beachclub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neilson Retreat Beachclub

Address: 10 min walk from harbour, Syvota, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Thesprotia Region > Syvota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Syvota
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
The Retreat Hotel Syvota
Retreat Hotel Sivota
Neilson Retreat Beachclub Greece/Syvota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing